Education logo

For Teachers Heading back to the Classroom

Some love from a former teacher

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I'm writing to you teachers heading back to the school house next month (August) because I care about you. Maybe you already have your routine down and you're not planning on changing anything. Good for you, if that works and you're comfortable. However, if you're a teacher still looking for a way to make things "better" for you and the students, I have some ideas to share with you.

Let's face it, teaching in the school system is tough. You've got tons of paperwork (including grading) and tons of "rules" to follow. No teacher enjoys that part, but it's part of the system. Maybe testing the students isn't always necessary, but accountability is. We (the teachers, faculty, and parents) need to know how the students are progressing, and how the school is doing overall. We have to have some form of measurement and some form of proving how we are measuring. It doesn't always have to be one way or another. There is room for creativity and forgiveness, but as the teacher you've got to be wise enough to know when and how to implement either changes or the status quo. I didn't know as a beginner teacher and that was really hard for me. My advice, don't let the red tape bog you down. Do only what is absolutely necessary. If they want to throw IEPs at you and you don't believe in them, tell your boss and the parent why you don't believe in them. Tell them what it does to the teacher and the classroom. If they want to dictate your syllabus, ask them why they required you to go to college?

As for classroom management and dealing with the diverse students, I have some tips. It doesn't matter what grade or age group you're teaching, young people are much alike. They all want to do well, remember that! Even when you're dealing with a so-called "terrorist" in your class. That child still wants to do well. You have to remember that. It's important. Don't take it personally. It's going to feel like that kid has it in for you. Like that kid wants to ruin everything you're working so hard for. That's how it will feel. But think! That kid is just a kid. You've got to dig deeper and see why that kid is being the thorn in your rose bush. He or she is begging you to take the time to find out what the problem is. They need you, but they don't want to tell you that. They'd rather see you fail because then the problem they are really having won't come to the light. Be the light. Find out what's really going on.

You're going to hear from peers and other educational professionals that it doesn't matter if a student fails. While they're not "wrong", they're definitely not all "right" either. It matters to that student. It probably matters to their parents too. We, as educators can say "Well if it mattered to the student or parents, why aren't they correcting it?" Because they think that's YOUR job. The parents have another job or maybe two jobs. The student's job is to be a student. So TEACH them how you are the TEACHER and show them the way. If a student fails even after you've done everything possible, then you can say "it was inevitable. That student simply doesn't understand that subject and at this time not even my teaching could help." That's not really failure. You and the student fail together if you give up before trying and knowing for sure.

You're going to have discipline issues. That was my weakest area. I hated dealing with it. I just wanted to teach my subject well and have happy successful students. I was so naive. Prepare yourself daily for the discipline situation. It doesn't matter to the students how "disciplined" you are. They are not you and they are ready to admit that. But how do you control the classroom? What if the Principal or the Dean is too soft? What if they administration doesn't take classroom chaos seriously? What if you feel weak and alone up against 15 to 20 students staring at you? Yes, it can feel frightening and overwhelming. I never knew how to handle that part when I was there. The best I could do was not to flip out. To stay calm. To go have a smoke on my break and try to think of what I could have said or did to make it easier for myself and the class. What I noticed from the teachers who had less discipline problems was this: They were firm about their rules. I wasn't. I was too forgiving. You have to set up rules that you know for a fact you will back up with consequences. For example, don't say "You can't chew gum in my class" if when a student does it, you're just going to let it slide. Don't even mention the rule then. If the students see you slack on one rule, they won't respect any of your rules. You have to give consequences for every rule you present, and you have to be consistent about all of it and to all of the students. If you let one student slack on a rule, and then try to discipline another student, all hell is going to break loose. The students pay attention to this. My problem was that I didn't have any rules. I wanted to. But I just didn't have the hear to implement the consequences. I wanted them to love me. I wanted them to know how much I loved them. I was afraid that the discipline would make them hate me. I was wrong. It makes them respect you, and it makes them trust you and that they are safe in your classroom. Don't be like me. Don't put your desire for them to "like" you in front of their need for a safe and orderly classroom. You're not there to be "popular" -- You're there to be a teacher, a guardian, and co-parent. You are not a student looking for "friends". You are a teacher who is "needed" and you're not "needed" as a "friend".

Those are the most important pieces of advice I can give to you teachers looking for some help as the school year begins. As for curriculum or teaching ideas, don't stress it. If you run out of gas in the creative department, the school doesn't mind if you depend on the text book. That's what it's there for. I wanted to be super-teacher my first year and I spent hours trying to come up with unique and creative lesson plans. It was a waste of time. Many days the lessons are half taught or don't even get a chance to be seen. Don't waste your time trying to re-invent the wheel. Use what's already there. Take lesson plans already made. Use the textbook and any supplements that come with it. You're going to have to manage your time on grading and meetings and discipline factors, so trying to re-invent the wheel is the last thing you want to focus on. It's simply NOT a priority.

God Bless you Teachers. Love the kids, but don't let them break your heart. Teach them and Guide them. Stay safe. Take care of yourself. Remember if you don't take care of yourself first, they won't have you as their teacher. Remember, other teachers love you (even those of us who are not there with you) and we wish you the best -- even if it seems like you're all alone.

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.