Education logo

Film School Firsts

Film Review Series

By Mary NicholsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I, a film student, have seen an arguably laughable range of films.

Classic films, famous films, groundbreaking or impactful films. Of all those films that I'm "supposed to have seen", I've seen maybe 3. Even recent films, I’ve seen mainly the superhero ones.

In my defense, the list gets bigger everyday, and definitely every Oscars.

It’s ironic that I say I love films, and indeed I thought I’d seen a fair amount – enough for certain people to say it was a waste of time – and it’s true that most conversations (aside from classes) rarely pass without me quoting or at least referencing something (I do actually often make references in class too, although usually just to myself). And now I’m studying film!

Yet, apparently, there are many films that I have not seen. There are a lot of films out there you know! They were making them well before 1999, which was when my world started, so that was a realisation. Saying that, I am the youngest of 5 so I watched a lot of stuff from the 90s and still consider myself a 90s kid despite not being around for most of it.

Aside from having a wonderful childhood (it really was lovely and I am truly grateful for it, I’ve had an amazingly privileged life and that’s something I need to remember – especially considering how much I used to cry about everything. I would have little patience for child me. And child me had little patience. And I still find myself complaining today, which is why gratitude is so important. That was ‘Things I didn’t need to post online’ brought to you by ‘topic digressions’), my film catalogue was constantly growing throughout my life, although it did take some convincing for me to watch anything that wasn’t animated or at least comedic.

When I say animated here, I’m speaking of films typically aimed at children. Animation is of course so much more than this, there have been amazing animated films that children wouldn’t be interested in (or that are simply not aimed at pleasing them) and others that they shouldn’t see until they can drive responsibly and, rather critically, legally. Animation is a topic that I’ve been taught a little about and I would love to explore further, both in this review series and in my (hopeful) career.

I evidently have much to explore in the wide open expanse that is the field of film.

As a student, I have been assigned to review 4 films (within different categories) as we study the periods surrounding and including them. I intend to keep reviewing films, as long as there are films I haven't seen (so I may have to write from beyond the grave... I'm okay with that).

Maybe one day someone will ask me if I’ve seen a film and I can say yes, I even wrote a review! Maybe one day I’ll ask someone outside my family if they’ve seen Bill (2015) and they’ll say yes. Seriously, it’s a great film. I didn’t think I cared so much about it but it comes up in every conversation I have! It’s really funny and yes it was marketed more toward a child-like demographic. I’m happy to fit in that box. Family comedy should include all the family members. And it certainly made mine laugh in the cinema, and in our home. And I quote it shamelessly to this day.

So!

I hope you enjoy this series as much as I hope I enjoy writing it.

I'm also thinking of ways I can incorporate techniques from the film I review and from school into a fun extra thing I can add to the review, hopefully for you to watch - so stay tuned for whatever that may turn out to be!

student
Like

About the Creator

Mary Nichols

Aspiring story teller and artist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.