Education logo

Existential Crisis in My 20s?

Just me a 20 something trying to understand what my purpose in life really is.

By Shinissa KaurPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
I met these two lovely geese last year at a park and I wanted to show them off. I named them Gregg and Molly.

So I know the title seems very dramatic, especially for my very first post on here but hear me out. I honestly have absolutely no idea what I'm doing with my life. I used to be so passionate and motivated about, well everything, but before we get into the nitty gritty of it all let me give you guys some backstory about me.

oh look! it's me

As you can see (from the picture above) that is me, an ordinary 22 year old woman. I would describe myself as being a perfectionist who always strives for success and this drive pushed me through high school. I wanted to be the best, I wanted to be successful and more than anything I wanted to go to university.

Long story short, I did it. I got into the university of my dreams and moved half way across the world when I was 17 to continue my education. I was enrolled in a course for journalism, instead of a course for creative writing, in my young mind a journalism degree would have more job prospects than a creative writing degree (oh how wrong I was). But it wasn't just career options, I had the naivety of any first year university student, who believed that I could genuinely change the world with my writing.

Me at university when I still felt passionate about my career path.

Three years later and I have definitely woken up in the real world. Over the three years studying journalism I found my passion for it slowly fading away. Working on news stories felt more like a chore than anything else. The proverbial cherry on top of it all came in my third and final year at university. Like any other student in their senior year I started to apply for jobs in my chosen career field (I was still convinced I was on the right life path), and yet with every application I sent out I felt even more dejected by it all. And just when I thought nothing worse could happen, COVID hit. My graduation, which I was so excited for was postponed and then cancelled, and it felt like suddenly my whole life had been put on pause.

Now obviously, I am incredibly aware that compared to others in the world I am incredibly lucky to be in my current position, but damn, I feel like my life was upturned. When the virus hit the UK and my university was shut I just felt so lost. I knew finding a job now was going to be almost impossible so I enrolled in another university, this time for a Master's degree, just to stave off the inevitability of entering the working world. This time, I chose to get a degree in International Communication and Development because, and I kid you not, I believed that it would guarantee me better job prospects (Shinissa you fool, you never learn).

Except now, I'm 6 months into my new course and feel the same lack of motivation and drive. Maybe it's cause lockdown is still in place in the UK and I have been stuck inside for almost a year now. But everyday I wake up and feel like I have no idea what I'm doing with my life. So that brings me here, one day while scrolling on Instagram I stumbled upon this website and realised there was one avenue I hadn't yet explored. You see when I was much, much younger I loved writing. It was something that filled me with so much joy. I decided that while the world is still locked inside, I would try my hand at writing again.

Maybe it'll fail and I'll be back at square one but for now I'm actually excited about something again. Circling back to my title, I do think I'm having a bit of an existential crisis brought on by the COVID crisis but hopefully this can be my way out of it all.

Me again, back in 2018 reason for the lack of masks and social distancing.

If you have read all the way to the end of my post, thank you! I know my writing skills are a little rusty but they'll improve and I welcome any and all forms of constructive criticisms.

student
3

About the Creator

Shinissa Kaur

I'm just a girl in her early 20s trying to figure out what to do with her life, and I'm also trying to get back into writing. Figured the best time to rekindle my passion for it would be during the lockdown.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.