Education logo

Dyscalculia

I need statistical advice.

By Ashlie CrossPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dyscalculia
Photo by Dan Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Dyscalculia is the proper word for…I suck at math.

I never even knew there was such a word, until I started googling why I cannot grasp any concept involving math! It's actually quite irritating, because I’m pretty advanced in most areas of my life. Things aren’t usually hard for me to grasp the concept and learn how to do, except for math!

I’m a full-time college student and mother of 3. I had to take algebra last semester in order to take statistics this wonderful summer semester (sarcasm), in order to eventually earn a degree in psychology. I think I was 9 points away from not passing algebra. My grades are great in everything except math subjects. Honestly, I’m kind of winging this whole “college” thing. I wish I wasn’t though. I wish I could really take it all in but to tell you the truth, it is so HARD to do online classes at home while running a household.

I’ll also be picking up work again here soon because we all know how the world’s going right now, but I have so much fear that I won’t succeed in college then, because it’ll be too much on my plate.

Back to dyscalculia. So, this is a real thing people who aren’t good at math suffer with, including myself? But there’s no medication you can take to help treat this disorder. You just get to sit there and be frustrated the whole time you’re trying to do anything involving math and eventually get over it or deal with it. Sounds pretty cool huh? It’s exhausting. I am soooo over it. I have tried looking up help online and videos and different ways to do these problems. But statistics is kicking my ass. This semester is over July 17th and I am sitting at a low C, with very little hope of that grade improving. (I know I shouldn’t be so doubtful, but I am) I’m going to study my ass off and really try to grasp some kind of concept on this statistics class these last few weeks, but I fear that won’t be enough.

I’m scared enough as it is to enter the future with a degree when I’ve never been real sure or trusting of myself. Now I’m scared I won’t even get there! I am someone who is late to everything. And I’m really trying to work on that, so far, not the best of luck. I’ve even started to see a therapist because I just don’t know anymore. I know my anxiety is sky high and knowing everything I know about myself …I carry all that shit around like a 9-month pregnant mother who never gives birth. Just stays 9 months pregnant forever. Change is so hard…statistics feels harder at this point in my life.

I know I’m not the only one who looks at a math problem and sees nothing but numbers pointing and laughing at me in my face. Like I’m not “smart” enough to get it.

And I guess I’m writing because I don’t know what to do… and it’s making me sad. I’ve worked my ass off, been in school almost 2 years, and I want to keep pushing forward….but this is going to hold me back.

Any statistic tips or easier tricks to do things is appreciated… please feel free to share all you know.

Anyone know any websites that helped you pass your statistics class?

Or anything at all that I can walk away from this article with…in hopes of doing better?

Please helpp! Dyscalculia “wants to suck my blood!” (Dracula voice) hahaha.

college
Like

About the Creator

Ashlie Cross

I am a mommy of 3 and full time college student ALWAYS trying to make ends meet.

I write a lot about how I feel.

How I want the world to be.

How I wish people were.

I write to release.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.