Education logo

Dress Code?

Not for me.

By Alissa StreightPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Shocking. 3 women, only 1 man. Way to prove my point.

As a public school student for the last 14 years, I would like to make a complaint.

The most famous things we hear is about the dress code. We have meetings and assemblies and things are out on the announcements and we never hear the end of it.

“Summer is coming, make sure you have appropriate clothing.”

“No bra straps ladies.”

“No shoulders please.”

So, here I sit about to voice to you my utmost dissatisfaction for what adults from 1902 like to call, the dress code.

Let’s go to fact #1 as to why the dress code is useless. You are willing to send girls home for showing their shoulders or thighs. Pulling them from the education. You, the people who tell us school is the more important thing, and actually force us to go until we turn 18, or else we can get seriously punished, are going to send us home because of our thighs. Or our shoulders. It doesn’t matter if we have a test or exam, if it’s the one day we have to show up a year, no shoulders.

And believe me I understand that “you can’t wear whatever you want” and “it’s very distracting,” so this leads us into fact #2.

Instead of telling and teaching boys that women are not to be objectified and that when they go to school that is what they should be doing, you're teaching them that it is the woman's wrongdoing to show her shoulders. That they are more entitled to an education than women are.

Fast forward to story time, let me tell you a little something about this sexism that I witnessed.

I was walking down the hallway of my high school, clad in my sweat pants and t-shirt, and am listening to a girl argue with a teacher who is trying to get her suspended for, you guessed it, showing her shoulders.

And not even like wearing a tank top or anything like that. She was wearing a flannel shirt, pulled off to one side.

Now in a school of 900 kids, she is the least of your worries. While you were giving her crap about her shirt, six other girl walked by with their butt cheeks out. And you know the kicker in all of this?

She’s a GYM TEACHER.

So I stood up, and I said, “Ms. D***n, when I walked into your gym class this morning, every single girl in there had on short shorts and a tank top. I have no problem with dress code, but you can’t give it to one and not give it to all.”

Which leads us to fact #3.

What is up with only disciplining some of the female population? And then none of the male? Like I don’t have an issue with you disciplining kids, not at all. I am a firm believer that your shorts should be longer than your hooter, but come on. No one should have to be singled out in the hallway by themselves with no one else being called out on the same thing or something ten times worse.

And that’s the daily rant, thanks for reading.

high school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.