Education logo

Dream job in film production

My experience of the exciting degree course

By Anna KlausPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Dream job in film production
Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

I decided to study film production. And let me say this much - I have not regretted it. For me, studying wasn't just another educational path, but rather an extremely exciting adventure where I was able to learn a lot.

For many people, film production is a fascinating industry in which numerous dream jobs await. In the following text, I would like to use my personal experiences to describe the extent to which the course prepares you for this.

The first semesters

During the first few semesters, I quickly realized that film production is about much more than just shooting various scenes with a camera.

It's a much more comprehensive, creative process that starts with brainstorming, extends through script writing and ends with a comprehensive understanding of different narrative structures. Every single course I have taken during my studies has given me a new perspective on the world of film production.

Great practical relevance in the course

A special feature of studying film production is certainly the fact that there is a very close practical relevance at all times.

In the lectures and seminars, the focus was not only on theoretical knowledge - we actually produced films. I found every project extremely exciting and interesting, regardless of whether it was just a small exercise or a larger project. This also made the learning process very lively.

The diversity of film production

It should also be noted that film production is characterized by impressive diversity. This becomes immediately apparent when you take a look at the wide range of services offered by filmproduction cologne.

During my studies, I was able to deal with camera work, directing and editing, among other things. Of course, the curriculum also covers production itself, sound design and visual effects. This allowed me to quickly find out which areas I was particularly interested in.

Focus on teamwork

Film production is teamwork - we became aware of this again and again during our studies. Each project relied on very different roles, such as the producer, the director, the editor or the cameraman.

Of course, teamwork always presented certain challenges. However, this taught us the importance of clear communication and a structured distribution of tasks in order to achieve a successful result.

Career opportunities after graduation

Another point that was a clear argument for me in favor of studying film production is the diverse career paths that can be taken in the media and entertainment industry.

For example, there is the chance to realize your own creative visions as a director or to shape the visual aesthetics of a film as a cameraman. Film producers, on the other hand, oversee the entire production process, film editors shape the details of the story and sound engineers ensure a suitable, high-quality sound. Screenwriters lay the groundwork for the many compelling stories and set designers bring each film's landscape to life.

Film production requires passion

I was able to expand my personal skills and competencies with each additional semester. However, the exciting journey definitely doesn't end with the completion of my studies - in fact, for me it is just beginning. The experience I was able to gain during my studies in film production will always serve as helpful tools.

I would like to emphasize once again that film production is not just about the technical components and the craft - a personal passion for the industry should not be underestimated for a successful career. Every frame that is shot and every story that the moving images tell is unique.

student
Like

About the Creator

Anna Klaus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.