Education logo

Do you understand the words that are coming out of my mouth?

Together we will understand each other.

By Jodi!Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

One of my favorite quotes of all time! Not because Chris Tucker says it perfectly. Not Because Jackie Chan gives the classic look and reaction. But because this phrase (adjusted appropriately, of course) has become my life work. It is one of the reasons I get out of bed in the morning. The reason why I quit my “secure” 9-5 job. This phrase not only elicits a smile from my face, but it also elicits an emotion from who I am saying it too. Understanding. The opposite of miscommunication. Understanding. The gateway to confidence. Understanding. Part of the outer framework of security, safety, happiness, and life. The reason I taught myself a couple languages. The reason I decided to teach English as a Second Language, Spanish and Portuguese.

While growing up, my family and I travelled to many countries. Some where I spoke the vernacular, and others where I did not. One thing that always stuck with me, is how hard we tried to communicate to each other, and when we could not… the frustration! When we finally could make sense of what we were saying… the smiles! Where I live now, there are over 35 different prominent nationalities that are not North American. This mix leads to great food, conversations, dancing… and misunderstandings. I began noticing the misunderstandings more and more when I worked for a restaurant chain from South America. I noticed the need for translation, interpretation, language training, adaption help. I noticed ones who needed protection. What sort of protection can I offer? I ran through so many ideas… however ,I kept going back to one thing. Talking. That’s when I decided I will learn how to speak Portuguese, but also begin training to teach English.

I was scared I must admit. I was not the best in English grammar, nor did I feel confident enough to believe that I could truly help out. So, as I struggled with Portuguese, English grammar began making sense. As I began communicating more with my friends from Portuguese speaking countries, I understood the struggle, the nervousness, the doubt, and helplessness they felt in America. Unlike them, I could go back to speaking English, the language of the land and be fine. They did not have that option. At least not yet. I began creating papers and little courses and holding in formal group classes for my English learners around work hours.

In the beginning, it was painful for me. I mean, I did not really know what I was doing. I was responsible for helping these ones learn English. A lot of silence, a lot of Portuguese, some Spanish. Very little English. However, that was starting to change after a couple weeks. I heard some of the students saying some words in English! “Hello, how are you?” “I am fine, thanks.” “No, thank you. I am good.” I was so proud of them. It was even better to see that they were proud of themselves. They started to believe that they can do it. That they will learn. They will understand what is being said around them. They will have that protection. We trained for months, with some, we trained for years. The progress was notable. Their confidence kept growing and the changes in they wanted to make in their life, became reality.

I always asked my students for feedback and thankfully their honesty helped me to become a better teacher, but also helped me to love teaching. Recently, I have started my own little company to help people in my city and abroad to learn the language of their goals. I work with beginners and business English students. I not only teach, but I also interpret for my students in the legal and medical realms. I really enjoy doing this for them so that they know they will be taken care of and they are more than just business. Thriving cities are built on strong families, strong communication, and teamwork. It’s my passion to make sure they get to a place where they feel confidence enough to speak loud and proud.

One goal I have is to expand my online community for students and the business class to be able to focus on language that will help them reach their goals. Languages such as Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, and Chinese. I want those students to have the resource not only to study the language, but be able to communicate efficiently, interview for jobs, and feel a support system through open communication. I would enjoy seeing businessmen and women not only receive the help in language, but it can open the door to for many students to have access to ones who may have their dream job. Both parties can be taught about the cultural differences, the business practices, communication tips and tricks.

Everyone should want to contribute to equality, to protection, and to inclusion. Communication is one way that we can start to achieve this. A vocal community is an inclusive community. An inclusive community generates confidence and growth. So next time I ask someone “do you understand the words that are coming out of my mouth…”, if the answer is no, that is quite alright. We will work until together until you do. I hope that someone will do the same for me with my next language.

teacher
1

About the Creator

Jodi!

O que será será...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.