Education logo

Diabetic: In the Flesh (Part 2)

An Informative Series of Personal Experience

By Megan BaldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you have read the initial posting of this series, you are aware of its purpose and ideology. If you are just joining us…WELCOME!!! To update our new readers, and perhaps recap a little for those who are familiar with this series, this is a pen-and-paper expression of my limbic and logical self. It simply contains my individual perceptions and points-of-view and is not intended to belittle or influence or convince.

As a Type 1 Diabetic, I feel that Diabetes is a significant health issue which is often overlooked by the healthcare industry. While there is research being done on the issue, I feel that the treatment and medicinal advancements are lacking. Furthermore, the focus, when it comes to Diabetes, is often on Type 2 Diabetes and leaves the individuals with Type 1 Diabetes out of the loop. (For some basics on Type 1 vs. Type 2, please see ‘Part 1’ for this series). All in all, Diabetes is frequently misunderstood and constantly surrounded by misinformation. With this series, I am hoping to shine some light on the subject and clarify some falsities.

Today’s Topic is:

Insulin Injections

On a daily basis I usually take 3-6 separate insulin injections. Typically, injectable insulin is either artificially manufactured or it is taken from animals, such as pigs.

FYI: It is not uncommon for the medical industry to utilize animals as a source of supply to provide anatomical and physiological supplements to humans.

My insulin comes in ‘pen’ form. The pen requires small needle-caps to be attached to the top in order to remove the insulin from the pen. The pen has a dial on the end that allows you to set how many units to inject at a time.

Insulin Pens

Needle Caps

Insulin can also come in a vile or cartridges/canisters. Viles usually require long syringes and cartridges/canisters are primary used with insulin pumps.

Insulin Vile and Syringe

Insulin Pump

I have had people tell me that taking insulin injections is not that painful because the needles are very short and have a small opening. I STRONGLY disagree with this. While the needles are small in length and gauge size, they are still SHARP. They pierce the same layer of skin that you get annoyingly uncomfortable paper-cuts on; the same layer of skin that you get painful sunburns on; the same layer of skin that gets scratched by anything from a cat or dog to a bush or tree branch. IT HURTS!!

I absolutely hate taking insulin injections. I never know if I will hit a really sensitive nerve; and if I do, I’m not going to take the damn thing out, because I’ll just have to find another place to stick it in again! So I suffer through the pain and discomfort until the injection is finished.

There’s also the possibility I may hit a small blood vessel. I don’t know I hit the blood vessel until I pull the needle out. A couple problems with that: (1) it bleeds (that’s a bit inconvenient), (2) the insulin I just injected may seep out with the blood and now I don’t know whether the accurate amount of insulin went into my body, and (3) the blood will pool under my skin and leave a bruise, which is very unsightly.

Furthermore, insulin injections are supposed to be injected into specific parts of the body (see chart below). The shaded areas are the recommended injections sites in order for the insulin to be the most effective. For the most part, these areas are somewhat sensitive in nature. **An added BONUS.**

Injection Chart

My insulin injections consist of 1 daily dose, which is a slow-release type of insulin, plus multiple (usually 3-6) injections throughout the day, usually after I eat, as well as any extra offset I need in order to prevent my blood glucose levels from going too high. Unfortunately, stabbing myself with a needle multiple times per day is the only treatment available to me as a Type 1 Diabetic.

I hope this clears up a few misconceptions about Insulin Injections. There will be more to come on my ‘Diabetic: In the Flesh – An Informative Series of Personal Experience’ to provide a better look into the day-to-day life of a diabetic. Thanks for reading. 😊

***Please be sure to subscribe to receive emails of my latest postings**

interview
Like

About the Creator

Megan Bald

Medical Professional turned writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.