Education logo

Coronavirus vs. My Senior Year

How the virus changed my high school experience

By emma czotyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I passed the marquee outside my high school the other day on my drive home. Usually it showcases events, games, and exciting news going on at school. This time, in big black letters, it read: "WE ARE TITAN STRONG."

March 13th was the last day I was at school, and probably will remain that way. I wish I'd known. If I had any idea, I would've took it easier, thanked my teachers, and hugged my friends as tight as I could. There's still no word on when, or if, we're going back. It's a bummer for everyone, but the freshman, sophomores and juniors will always have next year. The seniors won't

All my life I'd been waiting for this year to be mine. Prom, graduation, good times with friends, getting into college. Instead, I'm filing for unemployment and crying myself to sleep, thinking of how all these milestones have been robbed straight from our hands and out of our control.

In no way am I placing these inconveniences above the tragedy coming from instances of COVID-19 worldwide. I know that people are dying.

But we were ready. Ready to dress up for prom, dance in our last concert, acknowledge our successes at Awards Day, and turn our tassels. Ready to finish the year strong surrounded by those who have been by our side all along. Ready to make our final mark on the school with pride in our hearts, because this is what it all came down to. Now, we may not even get a chance to walk.

But this is nobody's fault, and if we could have it our way, everything would go on as it should. No one ever really plans for the world to come to a standstill, leaving us lost, exhausted, and praying for the end. The best we can do right now is stick together, reschedule plans, and make the most of the few months we have left until we are really waving goodbye to the last 18 years of our lives in our small little hometowns.

So, to the senior class of 2020, you're not alone. Hold on to what you have right now, and take nothing and no one for granted. Thank your lucky stars for everything keeping you sane, becuase we know as good asanyone that it can all be taken away in an instant. After all, we're all in this together.

Sincerely yours,

A fellow senior.

high school
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.