Education logo

Commitment in the Snow

Another winter season, looking out the window at a large flurry of snowflakes, evoked a sad memory.

By VioletHoltPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Commitment in the Snow
Photo by Simon Maage on Unsplash

Another winter season, looking out the window at a large flurry of snowflakes, evoked a sad memory.

It was a winter afternoon last year, I was distracted, lying on the windowsill of the classroom looking at the snowflakes falling outside the window, it is like cotton wool, dense simply can not see. The snowflakes fell on my hands, and instantly turned into drops of water, listening to the laughter of students outside the window, my heart added a touch of loneliness and isolation. I did want to find someone to keep me company, and that's when I thought of him, so I turned around and sat down and wrote a note to A, asking him to wait for me after school.

Little a is my best friend, he is very kind, often helps others, in learning, we often help each other, each other made a lot of plans, our grades also continue to improve; in life, we also take care of each other, each other care, remember one night after school, the weather is very cold, he did not wear a coat, I will not hesitate to take off the coat to him to put on ------ at that time, we can be considered a pair of The golden pair!

Bell - bell! The school bell rang, I picked up the book bag just to go, I did not expect that I was on duty, helpless I was even sadder, had to stay to clean the classroom, I took the whisk no circle on the ground, looking out the window the snow is getting bigger, I think little a must have gone, or busy with my business it! But from time to time also look out the window a few eyes.

Finally finished cleaning, I grabbed my school bag by hand, the wind and lightning-like flying to the garage, lift the car, on the uniform acceleration of straight-line movement, it is quite possible, all the way unimpeded. I am anxious to always have a glimmer of hope will see small a, I shuttled in the crowd, eyes in the crowd looking, just when I was hopeless, eyes shot to him, he also saw me, but unfortunately, he and his mother detour, I was very disappointed, hope he left the back, we only a hundred helpless. Snow, falling thicker and thicker, snowflakes covered my tracks and my heart, snowflakes fell into my eyes and melted, I don't know if it was snow or tears, flowing down my cheeks.

I pushed my bike alone, my hands were freezing, but I still didn't want to ride in the car meditation was something to look forward to. I walked with heavy steps in the wind and snow, somehow, always feeling that there is a person behind me, after a while, the person accelerated the pace, and I walked side by side, I was curious, and turn my head clockwise 90 degrees fixed eyes to see, to my surprise, this person is not someone else, it is - small a rushed over, my heart vaguely painful, but at the same time have a million gratitude to him, when I felt a dampness in my eyes, warm and have a sour liquid sliding through my cheeks. "What brings you here?" I asked, swallowing hard, and he smiled and said, "Because there's a lonely you here!" I laughed.

His presence gave me great comfort, and we talked and laughed all the way, and finally, we talked about studying, and I was ashamed because my grades were so different from his. As we walked, I asked him in a low voice, "It's almost time for exams, can you get into the top five in your next exam?" He listened and seemed to be thinking, and after a while, he nodded, "Yes." I was very happy, and he asked me in return, "Can you make it to the top 20 in the year section?" I froze, and it seemed like a bolt from the blue, and the air around me suddenly coalesced. I knew my strength, and it was simply possible. We stared at each other, and after a long time, I nodded reluctantly, a promise I had made to him. It was also my expectation. At this point, I had an unprecedented sense of pressure, he held my hand, and the cold wind shook the branches clattering, but I did not feel the cold, a warm stream flowed into my heart, and the snow drifted silently down.

Soon after the test, the results came down, I froze, I could not believe that I not only did not fulfill the promise but also regressed a lot. Then I looked at Little A. He did get into the top 5 of his year. I was so ashamed, thinking how disappointed he must have been in me. And what disappointed him, even more, was that I didn't have enough courage to admit the mistake, but made A lot of excuses for myself.

After that exam, a left and went to a place far away in time, I think he will not be back, he left, took away the helpless pain, leaving me infinite repentance, he left, I will not feel lonely again, because I have that good memory, accompanied me to finish the road.

No matter how long the time is, how difficult things are, can not stop me from moving forward, just because the wind and snow have that kind of a promise.

high school
Like

About the Creator

VioletHolt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.