Education logo

College Planning

Weekly Post

By Laura's VocalPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Time to start planning the next chapter of your life! 

Here's my take on college planning and what all needs to be thought about!

Research and Compare

First things first, you need to establish what you want to do for post secondary! Once you've figured that out, you can research different types of schools. I was already familiar with the schools that offered my program, so I did some research on the overview of courses, cost of schooling, cost of living, and so on for each school! I narrowed down my top five schools and applied to them.

While waiting for an acceptance letter, I am continuously doing research for each school to figure out pros and cons for each. For example, the gym is important to me, so I have been comparing each school to see which one offers more. The size of the schools is also a big thing for me. I don't want something secluded from the city that has minimal amounts of people, but I also don't want a huge school in the heart of Toronto. I am trying to find a happy medium! Figure out what your needs are and narrow down the schools that meet them! Another smart thing to do would be touring all of the colleges/universities you are looking at! This will give you a feel for the environment at the school and if it's somewhere you can see yourself being for the next chapter of your life.

Make a Decision

Once you get your acceptance letters, it's time to choose which school you want to go to! At this point I have already narrowed down my top three schools with my first choice being the one I would pick if I got accepted. Hopefully, you did all the research you needed to make the right decision for you.

Financing

Now I hope that you took the time to look at the cost of the school of your choice, as well as if you will be commuting, staying in residence, or renting a place. All of these expenses can add up quickly and you have to be as prepared as you possibly can be! Now I understand that some students have financial support from their parents and others have to pay by themselves completely. Now, obviously, it's helpful to save when you are in high school, but if you need some extra help, you can apply for OSAP, grants, or even student loans (in Canada anyways)! I've heard it many times and it's known that many different places give out lots of money every year to students. Unfortunately, sometimes it doesn't get given for the simple fact that no one applied for it! So there's no harm in applying and the worst that can happen is that they will just say no.

Another tip would be to work on weekends and holidays while you're in college/university (if possible) at a job that will give you a boost in your finances. I will be going away to college next year and won't be coming back every weekend, but I plan to let my managers know at Walmart when I will be home and when my holidays are, so I can be booked for some extra cash! Of course, I'm not going to work every time I come home, but every once in a while.

Time to Get Excited!

Now that you've done the research, you've decided where you want to go, and you've established a financial plan, it's time to tidy up the little things, (and this is the fun part)! Start planning what you want to bring with you, how you want to decorate your dorm, etc. You can even get in contact with your roommates a few months prior to school starting, which is a great opportunity to lay down the ground rules and start getting to know each other!

college
Like

About the Creator

Laura's Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.