Education logo

College Life

Not All It's Cracked up to Be

By Rebekah LottPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Go to college!" they said. "It'll be fun!" they said. The college life is not all it's cracked up to be. Although it does teach some valuable life lessons that you won't learn anywhere else, and as some people say, "Experience is the best teacher!" (not always true), it does give you a different perspective of life, the world, and of what you want to do with your future! It's an eye opener and a booster, especially to those who aren't sure what they want to do with their lives yet.

College is a great way to further education, meet new people and friends, make lasting friendships, meet a future spouse, or just help make yourself become a better you! While it's not meant for everyone, anyone can learn something from it whether it's actual academic information and facts that will make you more knowledgeable and wiser, or it teaches you a moral or life lesson. College can take you to the highest peaks in life or the lowest valleys you can experience. So hold on tight, because this is a crazy, wild ride you're about to hop into, but it's one you won't want to miss!

It's not all warm and fuzzy and roses and daisies, but it can be worth it. No one ever said that the college journey and life experience would be easy; it is difficult. There will be times you love life and your friends and social circles, there will be times you want to crawl into a black hole and stop time to sleep or just get away from it all, but life doesn't work that way. You begin to understand why people say that they don't want to adult or make grown-up decisions, but that day comes to everyone whether they like it or not.

Sure, college isn't about being a nerd and always studying and being an academic geek. Most work while they go to school to pay the bills and other things along the way. But some of the most precious and important people that will walk into your life are the people you meet at college. Some of those life-time friendships happen nowhere else but college. Yes, there will be those friends that only stay for a season, but some find their best friends or life-time soulmates at college as well.

College is also where I met some of my favorite teachers. Some I didn't appreciate as much as others, but there were a few that I could tell they cared about me and my academic and personal growth. They encouraged me to pursue my dreams and increase my knowledge, they challenged me to go above and beyond others, and especially encouraged me to just give and do my absolute best! That's exactly what I did. Some teachers became great friends, and some became so close to me I could almost call them family!

No, college is not all roses and butterflies, and sometimes it's not always what it's cracked up to be, but not getting an education and not meeting the best of friends or a soulmate is not an exciting life either. Life is full of adventures, you just have to be willing to take some risks. Life is too short; live a little! Learn to love, learn to laugh, and learn to live! And don't take a second of it for granted. There are so many people in the world that don't get the opportunities and chances you get to have in life, so don't take it lightly, count it all as a blessing, and enjoy and treasure every moment!

college
Like

About the Creator

Rebekah Lott

Music is my passion! I love my family and close friends! My best friend is amazing! I love being with my immediate family, niece, and nephews! I like to share my passions with people! Above all, I love God!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.