Education logo

College Is Not for Everyone

You can be successful without getting a degree.

By Ashlyn HarperPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

Before I talk about why college isn't for everyone, I want to disclaim that I am not telling people to ditch their college dreams and goals. While it isn't for everyone, it is also a great asset for some people. Getting a degree in a field you love, making memories and following your dreams looks differently for every person. This article is merely to point out that you don't have to go to college to become a successful human being. Each person's journey is different, which is what makes us all uniquely special.

For me, college was never something I felt I needed. While I could have gotten a degree in writing or business, I chose to work hard in a career and gain experience. Plus, I was not able to financially support a college degree, which is a problem most people face. Even with aide and scholarships, it would have been too difficult for me to maintain. However, I never let that set me back in the goals that I wished to accomplish in life. Depending on what you want to make your career, college might not be the answer for you either.

As a writer, I have learned that a lot of the education I needed was within my mind. By researching online, practicing every day, and seeking help from professionals, I taught myself how to succeed in this career field. The great thing about the world we live in now is that there is so much information at our fingertips. You can find almost anything online, take free courses, and find people in your chosen field to help mentor you.

Just like getting a degree, this path isn't an easy one. You need to have determination, drive, and focus on achieving any goal in life. Since I didn't have a degree, I started as a server several years back. While it wasn't my chosen field, it taught me a lot about working hard and gaining experiences that would help me in the future. I put in countless hours, studied as much as possible, and never gave up. Eventually, I was promoted to a manager, something that might have been easier to receive if I had gone to college. While it might not be effortless, it is possible.

When it came time for me to focus on my dreams and goals, I knew I would have to put in just as much work. I entered every single writing contest I could find, wrote every single day, and had a countless number of people critique my work. When I wasn't writing, I was (and still am) taking free courses online, reading articles from successful writers, and researching different writing techniques. While I may not be Mark Twain or Maya Angelou (both of which did not attend college), I would say that I've bloomed my love into an actual career.

Going to college does not ensure success, just like not going means a life of minimum wage employment. No matter what you choose to do in life, you have to find the path that works for you and put effort into perfecting it. For me, I have no regrets about the choices I have made. I still had that "college experience" during my younger years and, through different jobs, learned skills and assets that I use in my everyday life. Every decision I made has put me exactly where I am today. I might not know who I would be if I had attended a university, but I can confidently say that I made the right decision.

If you are thinking about college, I would highly suggest talking with friends and family, finding counsel with people in the profession you want to enter into and take your time making your decision. Don't be afraid to make the wrong choice either. Schooling will always be there and, if you go and end up not liking the degree you are pursuing, you can still change your mind. The great thing about following a dream is that there is no one way to do it. We all have an individual path that we need to take. As Anthony Robbins says, “The only impossible journey is the one you never begin.”

college
Like

About the Creator

Ashlyn Harper

A chaotic room of stories. My curiosities lead me in all types of directions, creating a chaotic writing pathway. I want this place to be for experimenting, improving my craft, and sharing new ideas with anyone willing to read them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.