Education logo

College Can Make You A Better Person

Taking advantage of more than academics during your college career.

By Jordan ZiembaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
College Can Make You A Better Person
Photo by Vasily Koloda on Unsplash

“It’s not about perfect. It’s about effort.” – Jillian Michaels

What do you think of when you hear the word "college"? I used to picture classrooms and textbooks, professors and white boards, and all things school related.

When I hear "college" now, the word possesses a whole new meaning. I see the late nights, the meal skipping; I feel the weight of multiple book bags overflowing with notebooks, folders, and writing utensils. I remember the actual, physical pain and the extreme effort it took just to sit up in bed.

College gives you so many different opportunities to grow. You have choices. You have the choice to wake up when your alarm goes off and take advantage of being up earlier in the morning, or slump back into your slumber. You have the choice to believe that you are smart enough to finish that math assignment, or to beat yourself up about it. Whenever you are presented with a choice, you are challenged to make the right decisions. College provides what feels like millions of choices every day, giving you the opportunity to grow as a person.

We all want to be successful. But, success doesn't come easily. I have to remind myself everyday that I can dream about being successful, or I can actually act upon chances to achieve that. They say it takes about a month for a habit to be completely established--good or bad. College offers routine. When I don't have a routine, I feel like I'm wandering around with no direction. I don't know what I'm doing, or where I'm going. But, school provides us with a routine.

You begin to establish the times you are most able to study, as well when you should get up in the morning, and you are reminded every day that you're going to school to be a [fill in the blank]. I get excited when I think about being a social worker, and a human service professional. I'm still in the trenches, but whenever I sit down to write an essay, or read a chapter, I think about how everyday I am getting closer to being able to help others.

Your future self is constantly sitting in front of you, staring at you, while you're studying. College makes you think about your future everyday, and you respect your future self enough to do your best.

Choosing to prioritize school is a big one. Do you feel like you're missing out on a lot of fun stuff your friends doing? I sure do. Last summer semester, I chose to take two classes, and I felt left out. A lot. The sunshine and laughter and music outside my bedroom window taunted me cruelly. My friends would be sitting in the bed of a truck, free from all responsibility. When I mentioned the frustration I felt to my mom, she gave me an answer that I think of often:

"You won't be able to have all the fun you wish you could right now, but when you're done with school, you're done. After you accomplish you're schooling, you'll have free time again. It's such a great feeling, to be done with school, and to be able to go out and not worry about the homework waiting at home."

Basically, what you have to tell yourself, is that this is just a season of your life. It's going to be over before you know it. Being a student makes you disciplined. You can make productive choices, or not so productive choices.

You know what else happens in your college years? Boyfriends. Girlfriends. Career opportunities. Meeting new people. Making new friends. College is tied up into the most life-changing years you will experience. During this time, it is normal to feel confused. Sometimes, you'll be tempted to drop out.

I'm going to tell you what my uncle told my mom when she wanted to take a semester off:

Don't do it. You won't ever go back.

I know, there are times where you are going to feel like it's necessary. I'm telling you, how important it is to stay in school isn't something our parents and older relatives say for fun. They're saying it because they genuinely know it's true.

Here are a few tips of how to get through college a little easier that I threw together a while ago:

  • Prioritize sleep. Why? You won't be able to perform your best. And your best efforts should always be available.
  • Call your friends. Have a laugh!
  • Get up early, get everything done, then binge watch Bridgerton on Netflix.
  • Exercise (even for 15-20 minutes) wakes you up and ensures a positive start (or end) to your day.
  • Don't get so wrapped up in homework that you neglect your significant other, or any other valuable relationships.
  • Keep track of all your chargers.
  • Keep your phone and computer charged always.
  • Drink 1/2 of your body weight in ounces of water a day. (I weigh 120, I drink 60 oz of water a day.)
  • Don't forget to eat.
  • Keep track of everything with lists, calendars, stickers, and planners.
  • Do your best to not do any homework after 5:00 PM. Your brain, though it may not feel like it, is succumbing to a state of exhaustion by this time.
  • Keep a neat, clean, and orderly space around you...this includes your car, your bags, your room, and your notebooks and folders.

It's important to remind yourself every day why you are doing what you are doing. One of the number one reasons for dropping out of college is burnout. Don't submit to it. Tell yourself all of the reasons you chose to go on this college journey to begin with.

"You can do it." Say it to yourself. Try it right now. Say it in your head. Say it out loud. It makes a difference when you choose to tell yourself positive things instead of negative, self-degrading ones. (See? Learning to make good choices.)

You are killing it. You may not feel like it. Maybe you got a 60% on your last quiz, or you are failing a class. But, are you doing your best? Yes. Okay! That's all that matters! That's all you can do! Your best.

I 100% recommend college. It's has taught me how important it is to stay healthy, mentally and physically. It has taught me how to balance a busy schedule, and make time for the important people in my life.

College will make you a better person, if you choose it to.

college
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Ziemba

Jordan Ziemba has a passion for writing and helping people.She is currently attending Lansing Community College to become a human service professional. She loves ice cream, Croc sandals, and Gone With the Wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.