Education logo

British student, forced to live on the street, just graduated and was cheated 200,000

Foreign money is good to earn

By Richard ShurwoodPublished 2 years ago 16 min read
Like
I

This is the 559th real person's story we have told

I'm Yue Long, a post-80s Inner Mongolian, now living in four different countries.

Growing up, my parents paid a lot of attention to my education and sent me to the UK at the age of 16, from high school to graduate school.

After graduation, I was enthusiastic to stay in the UK, and tartestartinginess with someone, but I was cheated out of 200,000, which led to sleeping on the street for more than 10 days. I was able to survive only when I met a lucky man.

After returning to China, he went to Shanghai to start his own business, specializing in foreigners and made a lot of money. But because of greed, resulting in being cheated hundreds of thousands of dollars, almost depressed.

The ups and downs of life made me depressed for a while and I was bent on a different way of living. Later, I wanted to find the meaning of life through self-driving tours, but I never thought I would have an unexpected reward.

I was born in 1985 in Ordos City, Inner Mongolia, and I am an only child. My hometown is famous for the Abai cashmere, so there are many factories producing cashmere, and my father is one of the entrepreneurs.

I have the impression that my father seldom has time to rest, and he is busy in the factory day and night every day. He didn't have time to spend with his family or pay attention to my growth, but he was very devoted to my education.

To take my grades to the next level, I was sent to Hohhot, the capital of the province, to study in junior high school. Unfortunately, things did not go as planned, because of my young age, lack of self-control, and lack of family discipline, my grades fell instead.

At that time, many children around me who did not study well and had no hope of getting into university were sent to study abroad if their families were well off, and my father arranged the same for me.

In 2001, at the age of 16, I went abroad to Coventry, England, to continue my junior high school education.

If I couldn't reach the entrance score, I had to repeat the course and pay for another year.

At that time, the tuition fee for one year plus living expenses was nearly 600,000 RMB. Although my father had a factory, it was still a bit hard to afford.

Many people grow up slowly, but I grew up overnight on that dark midnight. When I was lying alone in my bed in a foreign country, I thought about how much effort my dad had put in for my tuition, and instantly had a direction to move forward.

In order not to repeat my studies, I carefully followed the teacher's requirements. I once did not understand the importance of learning, but now it was as if I had changed my face and was devoted to my studies.

At that time, I didn't care about being pretentious, asking questions if I didn't understand, forcing myself to open my mouth and express myself, and my grades began to steadily improve. Thinking about the financial pressure on my parents, I planned to use my time outside of studying to earn money on my own.

As a newcomer, I knew nothing, so I had to go to a restaurant to do the simplest work. At that time, there was a restaurant selling curry and rice that was willing to give me a chance, and I only had to go there twice a week for 5 hours each time, and I could get 20 pounds, which is equivalent to 260 RMB.

The most impressive thing was cutting onions, and I couldn't open my eyes after cutting dozens of them. I was also afraid of washing curry pots in winter when it was seven or eight degrees below zero, and my hands were soaked in cold water that I could hardly feel them.

However, as long as I can ease the burden of my parents, I do not want to give up easily. This persevered for three years until the owner closed the restaurant.

During that time, there were other job opportunities, but I didn't move because my boss allowed me to work when I needed it most. And he was very friendly to me, making me feel warm in a foreign country. When we parted, he even gave me a special severance payment, hoping it would bring me a little help.

I am very grateful to those who helped me at this critical time so that I could meet the turnaround even on the most difficult days.

In my sophomore year of high school, my mother came to visit me and cried with heartache when she saw that I, who was once well-fed and clothed, had started working on my own to earn money.

But she was more proud of my growth. Since then, my parents have treated me like an adult, not only respecting my ideas but also encouraging me to try more while I was young and find my goal in life.

Since I was always interested in design, I took design and art courses in high school. When I applied to university, I submitted my portfolio from high school directly and got an acceptance letter from Coventry University for Graphic Design.

In 2005, I became a university student. My first year was relatively easy and I was used to working after school. I got my driver's license, bought a cheap second-hand car, and worked as a delivery boy.

Because of my sincerity and diligence, my boss often introduced some generous customers to me, which earned me considerable tips.

At that time, I could earn £90 every night, which was four times my original salary, so I couldn't say how happy I was. After my sophomore year, I focused on my studies and tried to get a scholarship.

Although I was studying and working part-time, I did not lose time in my studies. After graduating from my undergraduate program, I successfully enrolled in a graduate program at the same school and spent 9 years in Coventry.

In 2010, after graduating from graduate school, I wanted to see the prosperity of a cosmopolitan city, so I moved to London. I found a job as a graphic designer but quit after only six months.

I

I found that no matter how hard I worked and how perfect my work was, it was hard to get ahead in a short time in the environment of seniority, and I should be middle-aged by the time I got to be a senior designer.

Although this job was short, I met my colleague Li, who not only helped me when I was on the street in the future but also became an important business partner.

He met a friend from another country, plus the two have similar personalities and became a good friends who had nothing to say when we first met. We also found that we are both people who will immediately put into action when we have an idea, and both like to toss and turn. Not long after I quit, I didn't expect him to leave that company as well.

After I resigned, I seriously thought about my preferences and felt that I did not like the constrained work environment. So, from the domestic wholesale of a lot of small goods, what makes money to sell what, stalls began to sell pirated discs, jewelry, etc.

During the practice stall, I met a Chinese couple. They were working as second landlords in London and also doing small goods business. I was new to society and very innocent. When they offered to partner with me in the business, they were still glad that they met good people and immediately moved into their rented house.

I borrowed 200,000 from my family and purchased a large number of small goods from China one after another and put them in my landlord's store. Because I was too gullible, I never asked for the account details, but only knew how to sell the goods foolishly.

When the goods were half sold and I wanted a share, they told me I hadn't earned a penny, so I realized that I had met a scammer. When I got into an argument, but I was too weak, they were unreasonable and not only threw me out of the house but also kept all the money in my hands.

Dazed and helpless, I walked through the busy streets of London, lost in thought, not knowing where I would go next. With no place to stay, I had to sleep on the street like a vagrant.

The money I borrowed from my family was all invested, and I felt ashamed to ask for help from my parents. Every day, I had to find some odd jobs in the daytime to earn some money to eat and sleep wherever I went at night.

When I was poor, I accidentally met Brother Li at the fast food restaurant where I was working. At that time, he was doing a panel furniture business and happened to need a partner, so he was fortunate to have me in his sights because he knew me well.

He gave me shares and invited me to work with him. I was very grateful for his kindness, so I worked very hard. In the beginning, to save money, I couldn't afford to hire anyone, so the two of us went to the port to unload the goods ourselves, often without taking a break, and delivered the goods directly to the customers.

Because the customer is scattered, must plan a good route, at that time the navigation is not developed, relying on the map to send a family and then a family. We left in the early morning, slept directly in the car at night, and then rushed back to the warehouse early the next morning to deliver the next batch.

Because of the good quality and low price of Chinese panel furniture, the demand in London is quite high, so the income is very considerable. But I was always grateful to my friends for lending a helping hand when I was in the most difficult time. So I took all the money I made in the first year and replaced it with my initial shares.

Later, as the sales volume became larger, too busy to hire some people to unload and deliver the goods. This business is not technical, as long as you find the right source of goods, you can take a share of the pie. Over time, these people have felt the door, one after another to go out alone.

I

Do more people, the price war, business began to be less than before. But the thin camel is bigger than the horse, because of the early start, coupled with a unique vision, we are still the best of them.

However, at this time, my father asked me to return to China. He thought that since I was going to return to China in the future, I should come back early and adapt to the domestic employment environment as soon as possible.

Although I was already eligible to apply for a green card in the UK, the UK was always a foreign country to me, and I was more eager to return to my hometown and my dear parents.

So in 2012, after 11 years of wandering, I put down my business, said goodbye to my friends and r, and returned to my hometown. Unfortunately, I didn't adapt to the work environment in my home country as my father had expected, but I felt out of place.

After looking for a few jobs in my hometown, I was not satisfied, so I wanted to go to a big city and see if I could make a difference with my overseas study experience.

The next year I went to Shanghai, and although I found the right job, as a newcomer in the workplace, I needed to do a lot of chores and have work experience to get important design opportunities.

Just when I was going to get down to business, a chance event made me catch a business opportunity.

When I was leaving work that day, I passed by a real estate company down the street and saw a foreigner who was struggling to ask for rental prices in English, but the staff inside looked at each other and couldn't answer.

So I went up to help him. It turned out that he wanted to rent an apartment, but he was not satisfied with many of them. Shanghai is a cosmopolitan city and many foreign companies are settled here.

When foreigners come to Shanghai, there are many inconveniences in their life due to the language barrier. I was inspired and thought that with my language advantage, I could open up a new business to provide rental services specifically for them.

At this time, Li also returned to his hometown Ningbo, and when I told him the idea, we both hit it off immediately. So I quit my job again and opened up the old house rental business with my friend.

I used the design I learned to plan the promotional materials, focusing on highlighting the various free services available for renting, thus attracting many foreign friends.

Because of the large amount of money invested in this business, not many people were doing it, so the business developed smoothly. At the peak, there were 20 houses for rent together, and the rent was at least twice the original rental price.

In those years, I devoted myself to the rental business and accumulated a lot of money. But then, some senior real estate agents also joined frantically, all wanting a share of the pie.

Shanghai's old houses had limited resources, and within a few years the advantageous locations were close to saturation, and there was no profit to be made in remote areas, so we did not expand new business.

Then profits began to decline, at which point Dad wanted me to go home to take care of the factory, and Li also wanted to return to the United Kingdom to develop. So we hired someone to take care of the rental business and free up our own hands to develop other businesses. To this day, renting houses still brings me some income.

After so many years of hard work, I feel more and more that having my core compet is the only way to be invincible. So I convinced my dad to switch from OEM to my brand.

Finally, he accepted my suggestion, and with years of business experience and strong connections, he slowly opened up his reputation and began to steadily increase the sales of his products.

While helping my dad, I also began to consider how to make money on my own hands to make money. I wanted to take the conventional route, but in 2016, local private lending was very prevalent, and many people saw the high returns and turned their money to the private sector.

Many friends came to lobby me to join them and seeing them make a lot of money, I could not resist the desire of my heart.

So I started to invest cautiously, and later saw that not only the principal came back smoothly, but the interest was even more attractive. After a period of trial and error, began to let down their guard, and bold up.

The heart of a man is not enough to swallow an elephant, things come to roach cicada. When the nature of greed is exposed, it is the time forters to close the net. Later I invested hundreds of thousands of funds, but the other side rolled up and ran away.

The hard-earned money was lost due to greed, to my chagrin. I was depressed in my room, thinking about the 10 days I spent on the street in England, not knowing where the road ahead was, but finally, I met with a t, turning point.

The night of sleeping in the street, like a movie, crossed my mind, and suddenly I connected. As long as the green hills in, not afraid of no firewood, money can be earned again, no big deal.

Thinking about this, I was in the spirit again, just a moment I do not know what I want to do. See a lot of Internet users, one person, and a car wandering the world, so I also intend to go out and walk.

When I told my parents that I wanted to go out for two years, my dad glared, "You still want!" Although very angry, see myself re-energized, to agree. I also hope I can take this opportunity to regroup and find a purpose in life again.

In 2018, I used the rest of my money to buy an RV and took my dog with me on a journey to the four corners of the world.

Traveling alone, I didn't expect to be surprised by the number of surprises. Had walked in the mist for seven hours, just to feel the mystery of the primeval forest; had also mistakenly entered the depths of the mountains, accidentally found the houses built by Vietnam War veterans, and also photographed the once-in-a-century Guangxi snowscape ......

Exploration, joy along the way, and nature with its unique charm taught me to face life openly.

But a solo journey will inevitably be lonely. In Todd's something to do, I made a video of what I saw and heard on the road and posted it on my self self-media count.

To my surprise, I attracted a large number of netizens to watch it, and I liked to actively interact with them, so the journey became more interesting.

I used the camera to let people see the greatness of our country, and I also used the camera to record the little-known handicraft heritage. Through me, many people have seen the mountains and waters of the vast territory and the chemical charm of the 5,000-year civilization heritage.

That's when I felt that my RV trip had an mng. So I began to continuously output high-quality videos, recording the beautiful mountains and rivers of my country in the form of a life diary.

These positive videos have not only gained me many fans but also brought me financial gains. What's more surprising is that because of the high quality of the videos, I was also invited to participate in a cruise organized by the platform in 2019.

In 2021, I won the 38th e in the platform's video popularity finals, out of 260,000 creators.

This honor was the greatest affirmation for me, and also made me feel that the night I was once surrounded by wolves was no longer only frightening when I recalled it, but more of a pleasure to experience a different life.

After this trip, people seem to have become more permeable, without the previous impatience of being in a hurry, and more comfortable to be at ease.

I remember in the Namucuo, the caravan broke down, waiting for parts for a week, I was stationed alone in the caravan, quietly feeling the sometimesfeelingrmy, and sometimes flying sand and rocks changeable climate. Everything in front of me is like a life full of big winds and waves, which will eventually usher in calm.

Because ofravel met a lot of like-minded friends. Have met to see the beautiful scenery, but also sailed together unforgettable journey.

ce in the high mountains at an altitude of 5,000 meters, because of the beautiful scenery and ignoring the low temperature, resulting in the caravan freezing to start up. A few people had to push the caravan into the sun to "warm up", and only after a difficult start, barely drove down the mountain repair.

But afterward, I do not remember the wretchedness of the time, only the retrospection of the time

studentteachertrade school
Like

About the Creator

Richard Shurwood

If you wish to succeed, you should use persistence as your good friend, experience as your reference, prudence as your brother and hope as your sentry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.