Education logo

Berkeley College Notes

Public Health

By The Vibe Podcast Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Berkeley College White Plains, New York

Welcome to the school of Hard Knocks! On my quest on this Earth in search of knowledge these past 41 years, I have learned some things...

One of those things that I have learned is that some people... in fact a lot of people make life decisions without educating themselves first creating cycles of madness thereafter.

Thankful and proud of myself for keeping my college notes!

Something else that has disturbed me is the amount of people who think I am on a diet... when in fact I just live a healthy and balanced life.

I come from the inner city of Yonkers, New York and sadly that is the mentality, so I decided to share my college notes in the hopes of educating some folks that having a healthy and balanced diet is actually normal.

I am turning 42 in April, and I am happy to share with the world what aging gracefully is like!

Enjoy my college notes!

Public Health

You would have thought that after a worldwide shut down; a pandemic that perhaps we may have done better as a society.

After all it was about three years of madness...but no, sadly some folks have not gotten it together. I continue with education in the hopes of a better future for our children.

Ensuring that our children have a better future, includes health.

Public Health- Defined by Charles Winslow (1920) as the Science & Art of preventing diseases, prolonging life and promoting physical health & efficiency through organized community efforts for the sanitation of environment, control of community infections & education of individuals regarding hygiene to ensure a standard of living for health maintenance.

Hygiene plays a big role in health and wellness. Often times an individual who has hygienic problems, may actually be suffering from mental illness.

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) in its 1988 future of public health report, defined public health as an organized community effort to address public health by applying scientific & technical knowledge to promote health.

Both definitions to broad community efforts to promote health activities to protect the populations health status.

How do you promote health in your community?

How we care for ourselves is telling and how we raise our children is also telling.

My childhood was far from perfect but one thing my mother did was ensure that we ate healthy homecooked meals.

Often times we had no choice but to eat what our mother cooked. It wasn't fun all the time but homecooked meals are more nutritious than fast foods which has become the norm in today's society.

Today you can Doordash, Uber Eats dinner and pay double for extremely fried foods and soda... I must admit, I am guilty of ordering too.

I do try to eat healthy and not order out as much, but I do see how today's instant world is affecting our youth and it has inspired me to blog more on health-related topics.

We will be celebrating two years of wellness later on this month and I am happy to share what I have learned so far!

What began as a very painful and tragic experience has turned into a beautiful journey and a way of life.

To the reader, I ask you... How has the last three years been for you?

I have been set free, living authentically!

I took my writings seriously in 2019 and last year I wrote my very first book!

How Spirituality Saved My Life is available everywhere online! Writer's Republic is my amazing publisher.

Seek an education and you will be blessed!

That's a fact! I’m a Berkeley College deanslister, 2017!

teacherstudentcoursescollege
1

About the Creator

The Vibe Podcast

My name is Diana Costas and in solving my father’s 38 year old murder mystery in 2021, I was inspired to create The Vibe Podcast and write my very first book! How Spirituality Saved My Life is now available! First of many books 🙏🏽

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.