Education logo

Back to School

Day 1: In Person

By Misses EducatorPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Back to School
Photo by Austin Pacheco on Unsplash

Back to School: Day 1

I started teaching in person yesterday, October 19, 2020. My district decided that certain English learners (those at the beginning levels) and students receiving special education services would start their in-person learning at last month’s board meeting. Before Monday, all kinds of thoughts passed through my mind. I was worried about safety, adolescent management, and keeping them occupied for a continuous 3-hour block. At the same time, my excitement grew as the day approached. I couldn’t wait to see students in person. Looking at black screens all day gets tired, quickly.

I woke up Monday morning, put on the most professional outfit I had worn in months and started my day. My children had their morning meetings, in which they were informed that popsicles would be available if I passed by the elementary school between 9am-11am. After they begged me for a few minutes, I gave in and reluctantly drove to the elementary school for popsicles. I couldn’t find the correct parking lot for the school (there are 3), so I ended up walking with the children to get the popsicles. Honestly, I was completely flustered. When we arrived back to the house, I put together lunch for the children (who were staying home with my husband), grabbed all my supplies, and rushed out of the door.

As I walked into the building, I was met my lead teacher (department supervisor) who gave some last-minute information regarding protocols and instruction. I printed out papers and struggled to connect my laptop to the projector (which, actually, never ended up happening). An announcement blared, “ESOL teachers please report to the main stairwell.” Unfortunately, I reported to a different stairwell and ended up in the sea of students searching for their classrooms. I cannot explain the feeling of seeing students in person after an eight-month hiatus. I literally almost cried with happiness. I made eye contact with a student who I had taught in eighth grade who just came back from his home country after a two-year stay. I did not have to say anything. My joy was palpable.

Then I realized that the students had forgotten what school was like. In addition, pandemic schooling is quite different from school in the past. Luckily, I had a group of students who were very compliant. My school district implemented a variety of safety precautions, and we all made sure the students were aware of them. Their temperatures were taken before admission onto the school bus. All the students wore masks, the entire duration of their in-person schooling (with the exception of lunch which we ate outside and socially distanced). There were no more than nine students in a large classroom with one teacher. Students had to remain in their seats and not get up.

In a way it felt very prison like, but I found a way to work around it. I went over expectations before I started my instructional time. The school nurse passed through every class, explaining the regulations in English and Spanish. After that, we did an icebreaker using Google Slides and the students seemed to enjoy it. We went over how to write an email, and I had students write emails to their teachers. The students were very receptive. We took a walk around the campus and came back. I tried to get the students to write then speak about the walk. I was met with resistance, but most students attempted it. The final hour was spent helping students complete their missing work (it wasn’t enough time).

When the students went home, we (the teachers) met to debrief the events of the day. That is when I realized how lucky I was to have a group that was obedient. The other groups struggled – but they will get better with time. The lead teacher will tweak the program a bit, and it will definitely get better.

As for me, seeing the students was enough to energize me for the week. I was getting disillusioned, but now my spark is back. I can’t wait to see the students next time. Mondays are the best!

teacher
Like

About the Creator

Misses Educator

I'm a woman who loves the following: great food, great finds, and great relationships. Discounts are my best friends. I also am a school teacher of a pretty challenging population and a mother to three precocious children.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.