Education logo

At 48, I Stand by My Daughter's Side as She Retakes Her Year in Maotanchang :one

Hard learning journey

By yu zhaoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

My home lies in Dongzhi County, Chizhou City, Anhui Province. Last year, my daughter's college entrance examination results were not as we had hoped. She secluded herself in her room for two or three days, neither eating nor drinking, refusing to emerge. In my distress, I consulted with her father about the possibility of her retaking the year. Initially, we approached the local schools in the county, but they were hesitant to admit her due to her scores. Then, we heard that Maotanchang might be an option. So, I journeyed alone to enroll her there. The trip from our home to Maotanchang, taking the expressway, spans roughly two and a half hours.

During the enrollment process, we paid 30,000 yuan. This fee is linked to the college entrance exam scores; some even paid as much as 38,000 yuan. Our family's financial situation is rather strained. Before enrolling, I had a heart-to-heart with my daughter, ensuring she was committed before I proceeded. In past years, the enrollment would conclude within three days, admitting thousands. However, this year they expanded their intake, and students were still being admitted even in September. I've heard they've taken in a staggering 18,000 students this year. Can you imagine the pressure?

When my daughter first expressed her desire to retake the year, I told her I couldn't accompany her. At that time, I was scheduled for surgery and needed to be under observation. She assured me that she could manage on her own. Eventually, my husband took her to the school. After settling her in, she stayed at the school for two months. Once my surgery was done and I had recuperated for a while, I thought it would be better to be with her rather than staying alone at home. Coincidentally, she called around that time, expressing her discomfort in the dormitory. Everything required waiting in line, be it for meals, showers, or any other task. So, I decided to join her.

Upon arriving at Maotanchang, I realized that housing was in high demand. After much searching, I found a place that was relatively closer to the school. The house was in a dilapidated state, lacking both running water and air conditioning. There was another, more comfortable option available, but it was further from the school. I asked my daughter whether she preferred the distant or the nearby house. She opted for the latter. I cautioned her about the poor conditions of the closer house, but she resignedly said we'd make do. We settled for the nearer house. The lack of water was a challenge, but I thought, "I'll just fetch it." Having recently undergone surgery, carrying water was a struggle for me. Fortunately, some kind-hearted locals occasionally helped me out.

Later, the landlord informed us that the house we were staying in did not meet certain standards and expressed concerns about potential inspections. They offered us another, slightly larger house for rent. The downside of this new place was that the toilet was right outside the main door. I consulted my daughter about the move, and she was in favor. Thus, we relocated. The new residence is about one and a half times larger than the previous one.

The houses here aren't standalone units. Five or six families share two bathrooms. It becomes a challenge for the children to take showers in the evening, as they have to wait in line. Additionally, the electricity bill is split among the residents. This arrangement isn't ideal, as some consume more power than others.

In our building, there are five or six households. I am the only one from Chizhou; the rest hail from Lu'an City. All of us are here to accompany our children during their studies. We often shop for groceries and cook meals together. Whenever someone tries out a new dish, we all partake and share our culinary experiences.

interviewhigh school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.