Education logo

ASA College Stories

Graduate

By Pamela BonsuPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My name is Pamela Thomas Bonsu and my major was Pharmacy Technician. I’m a Class of 2020. I select this program because both my parents have health issues and I want to know what type of medication they are taking to control their health issues. Also, I want to know what type of herbs treat diseases besides the medications. They are tons of different medications and I want to know and learn what it’s for and how they treat the diseases. My family motivated me to pursue my degrees because they want me to become more successful and someday to become a business owner by opening a pharmacy store that will be fair and affordable for all patients who need it. A day in the life of being an ASA student was okay for me because I learn new information about the classes I took, meet different people from different cultures, meet students and make new friends and have fun. Also, I like it when we have guest speakers come to our school and talk about stuff and issues that are going around the city. Even the school has entertainment for us to enjoy. Also, the school has entertainment for us to enjoy and relax. The biggest challenge I encountered while pursuing my degree is to wake up early every day to reach school on time. However, I always rush to school late because of the train or wake up late. They were a point I want to quit and give up but I remember the talk one of my uncle give me to never give up, be strong and succeed and no one can not tell me that I can’t be a pharmacy technician because of my race and gender. I took that advice and I try to do my work and pass my classes. In some of my classes, I got low grades because of lack of sleep because I am working and my job is usually night shift. Trains always have been a problem to go home and school for everybody every day. I want to drop classes but I want to try harder and get my degrees. The other challenge is that I have to do class online from home because of the pandemic. Sometimes when I talk it’s hard because everyone at home is talking and I can not talk until everyone is quiet or move to another room so I can talk to my teachers and I miss having to go to school and talked to my friends and hang out and talked about the classes and the works. I like to thanks my parents, my families, and my professors who supported me and give advice and encourage me to finish school, and especially Professor Sam Varghese who encouraged me and my pharmacy technician classmates to register for classes for new semesters. The advice I have for current and potential students of ASA students is to never give and be strong. There is a time that it will become hard and you want to quit but remember to think of who you are doing this for; is it for your family, parents, spouse, and children, or grandchildren. Remember you not only doing for yourself. You doing this for your loved ones. Keep on reaching your goals. I’m so happy that I have a strength and the power to finish college since I graduate from High School since 2012. The reason I didn’t finish college is because of financial hardship my family has been through that year after I started college and for me to leave colleges because of my family did not have enough money and I have to start looking for job to help and support myself and my family. I’m so grateful I graduate from ASA College. The next step is Bachelors. Wish me luck

student
Like

About the Creator

Pamela Bonsu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.