Education logo

A Pregnant Teacher Did Not Allow Me To Use The Toilet Even Though I Was On My Period.

She had the fully-belly blown audacity to deny me my right to the toilet as a woman.

By AstroAnjiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The other day I was walking to the toilet just before my lesson as I was on my period and needed to change my pad. To my surprise, the toilets were being blocked by a member of staff who happened to be a pregnant woman. I had told her I urgently needed the toilet as I was on my period and her exact reply was ' You should have gone at break. Go to class'. Now, not only was I shocked at the fact that my basic human rights were being abused, I was more disgusted by the fact a woman let alone a PREGNANT woman had her fully-belly blown audacity to deny me my own female rights.

This pandemic has brought more discussion on the topic of women's rights and speaking out about misogyny. You cannot have this discussion without mentioning young girls and the misogynistic school system. This is just one incident in the mix which made me realise the insignificance of young girls in the school's eye and how our menstrual cycles are supposedly meant to align with the school timetable.

Young girls in schools are expected to follow all school rules but to what extent do these school rules become a form of oppression for women?

Uniform is a key staple in all Catholic schools but it seems the school system is more prioritised on the length of their female students' skirt rather than in what way the school can benefit their students.

Going to a Catholic school myself, I have seen countless girls receive detentions for their skirts allegedly being 'too short' or 'exposing themselves'. I myself have received a detention for my skirt length which is supposedly 'showing defiance' by my own female headteacher. What irks me is that the male students can freely walk around with sagging trousers and un-tucked shirts but God FORBID even an ounce of my knee meets the male gaze. It seems to be the case that schools enforce the idea that the appearance of young girls is a display for the boys.

Catholic schools also have many rules on painted nails, jewellery ( including earrings sizes) and hair accessories. It seems the only thing schools set out to do is strip young girls of their individual identities.

It is a biological fact that girls mature before boys but it is revolting that young girls are sexualised by the school dress code. Even on own clothes days, there were multiple restrictions for the girls. No 'revealing clothes' or 'exposed knees' or 'bare chests'. The boldness of the school system with indirectly sl*t-shaming young girls is horrific to say the least.

At what point does the school system condone blatant misogyny?

Sexual harassment also seems to be a big issue that happens in schools that is turned a blind eye by school authority. I have witnessed countless boys make sexual jokes about the girls being 'sl*ts' or place their hands in inappropriate places or even just purposefully pull up their skirts. How can statistics cover this fact when many young girls are silenced by authority when they speak out? When reported to a teacher, it seems that this isn't taken seriously and that the boys get a slap on the wrist EVERY TIME.

To what point are school systems just condoning this repulsive behaviour and letting these boys get away with it?

Are we educating students or in the process of making rapists?

These boys can only do so much before they get bored of their daily harassments and decide to take things further.

This isn't a male species hate article but rather a voice for the young girls who know exactly what I am talking about.

The thing with misogyny is that it isn't JUST a case of women being oppressed by men. Misogyny is enforced by both women and men whether they realise they are taking part in it or not. Misogyny is the school dress code being centered on the modesty of young girls. Misogyny is the school system aiming to silence young girls in any way they can.

To condone misogyny means to uphold patriarchal views.

I hope this article is an eye-opener to all so-called 'Education systems' and all people on how young girls are being oppressed by this same institution. Young girls NEED their women's rights re-claimed and their voices heard.

student
Like

About the Creator

AstroAnji

Astrology, Music and Film

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.