Education logo

A Head For Numbers

by Robert Neuman

By Robert NiemskiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was never a genius - my IQ would fall somewhere between 65 and 100, but people respected and admired me for what they termed my "head for numbers". I admit: even though I remember most things such as my business or telephone numbers, as well as those of others, some are more difficult for me to retain. Still, I was stumped when - according to my mother's prediction - kids my age and my college year were queuing up outside my door to assist them with a mathematical problem. Mathematics was not my favorite subject. Nevertheless, I managed to pass every year with flying colors. In any event, I took up a position as a temp in a prestigious school, teaching...what else? Before I accepted the position, I had to do a little refresher course into the more advanced aspects of mathematics.

As with every morning, I prepared the lesson. The school director, recognizing my acuity, for lack of a better word, gave me a sheet of A4 pager with some problems. I transferred the problem off the page and onto the black-board: 3n + 5 = 2n + 7.

The students were coming in for their class.

"Right", I said. "Today, we are going to study a new topic. I know it's a little bit advanced, so let me simplify it for you.

"It's called 'Letters on Both Sides of Equations'. Step 1," I pointed to the board, "is to identify the smaller letter item. I circled 2n.

"Step 2: subtract it from both sides." The calculations looked as follows:

3n + 5 = 2n + 7

- 2 -2

n+7 7

"Your task today is to solve it as normal."

Needless to say, my temp position lasted for the next 20 years. I was now living in semi-retirement, aged in my mid-40's, no wife and therefore no family. I preferred my solitude, thank you very much.

When I returned home from another part-time job teaching, a package was waiting for me in the hallway as I opened the front door. It was addressed to me, but no return address was given. I didn't know what to make of this.

I took the envelope to the lounge, slit it with a knife and the contents fell out: a smaller envelope, and a letter; it read:

"Hello, Owen.

"You may be surprised at receiving this package out of the blue, but when you read this letter to the end, you will understand why.

"You see, you were my favorite student, with a head for numbers. I hope whatever you are doing now you're successful.

"I am retired now, considering my recent diagnosis with an incurable lump. Given that my time is very limited, I have sold off all my assets - car, house, etc. - and donated my money to those who deserved it. You were among my names in my little black book. ('Little black book' may have negative connotations, but not in your case, Owen.)

"After you left the school, most of the students you assisted graduated with honors, thanks to you."

I felt the tears run down my cheeks. I continued reading:

"Inside the larger envelope you will find a smaller one containing $20,000. Keep it...you've earned it. Spend it, or invest it. It's a reward for your hard work.

"By the time you receive this, Owen, I'll be gone."

"Your friend, Roger D'Ath."

I could not believe my fortune. Something cozy sent me sleeping that evening: perhaps it was being appreciated by someone for the work I've done during my tenure to see the students graduate. I didn't see them, per se, but you get my drift. And now to be rewarded for it financially was just icing on the cake, for which I'll always be grateful. Such an amount of money, $20,000, does not grow on trees, and an opportunity like this comes once in a lifetime.

high school
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.