Education logo

8 YouTube Channels To Watch To Self-educate Yourself At Home

Here is a list of YouTube channels that cover interesting topics on life of working and traveling in the skies, learning Spanish, infertility, life behind bars, ASL, police work, psychology and medicine.

By Em EmPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Life of working in the skies

When I was a 16 year old girl I wanted to become a flight attendant. That is when I came across Fly With Stella. She is a bubbly and cheerful woman, one video of hers brightens my day. You get a great understanding of the life of a flight attendant. Some of my favorite videos that she made so far are tips and assumptions of flight attendant and crew, pack like a flight attendant and commonly asked questions.

Spanish

I am on my journey to learning Spanish, and one of the best You-tubers that I go to is Spanish Butterfly. You can’t find a sweeter teacher anywhere else. She covers verbs, pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary and the alphabet. A big thank-you to her because I am feeling confident for my vacation in Cuba this year (I can finally order all my drinks in Spanish!)

Infertility

I have been following Channon Rose vlogs struggle with infertility journey for a few years now. I was very happy for her when she finally conceived and gave birth to her baby girl, Snow. Now she is trying for baby number two. She is vulnerable with her viewers and is not afraid to show all the details, including the ups and downs and of her journey. I now understand much more the struggles, process and procedures that women and men with infertility issues go through. I wish the best of luck to her and her family and to anyone going through similar issues.

Life behind bars

Jessica Kent is an ex-inmate, she has created videos on her skincare and makeup routine in prison and jail. She brings awareness of addiction, life and mistreatment of inmates in jails and prisons. She even has a series of the different meals she managed to make in prison, such as baked potatoes, macaroni salad, cakes and candies. There are many things that I was not aware of or just simply could not even imagine before I found her channel.

American Sign Language

After watching the show "Switched at birth" I got inspired to learn American Sign language. ASLMeredith helped me learn ASL easily and quickly. Meredith has videos on how to sign everything you could possibly think of. I often go back to watch her videos to strengthen my ASL skills.

Policing

I found officer401 just a few weeks ago. He is a cop that uses his experience and knowledge to give advice on what it takes to be an exceptional police officer and everything related to it. He shows clips of real incidents and gives an explanation. He takes you behind the scenes of police work.

Mental Health and psychology

I have been subscribed to Kati Morton’s YouTube channel for a few years now. I like how in each of her videos she gets straight to the point. She covers a wide variety of mental health conditions and psychology topics. She also explains symptoms of different mental health issues in addition to treatment options. Through Kati Morton’s videos, I can see that she is a person who is deeply caring and passionate about her work.

Medicine and Health care

Doctor Mike is known to be entertaining, and although he is not as handsome as my husband, he is still pretty good looking. I am going to assume that you already guessed that he is a doctor. He makes videos on healthy routines, nutrition, stories, myths, his medical journey, and much more.

Enjoy what you read? Stay tuned for part two of more YouTube channels to watch to self-educate yourself at home. Please leave a like, tip and share with your family and friends! A little bit goes a long way and is highly appreciated. Especially during this hard time.

list
1

About the Creator

Em Em

She is Canadian, young and dramatic.

Em’s work is inspired by her life.

She writes whatever comes to mind.

Find her on Instagram @em.em.hehe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.