Education logo

7 Ways to Get the Most Out of Your First Year at University

How to Take Advantage of a New Beginning and Turn It Into Success

By Olivia WallacePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you've already moved away from home, you'll already understand that it's one of the most exciting yet nerve-wracking experiences in your younger years. For those who haven't, you've come to the right place! I understand that not everyone is interested in going to university, but we all know the feeling of anticipation for what's yet to come in a new beginning.

Having recently begun my first year of tertiary study, I’m here to share what I’ve learned so far. These tips can be applied to any situation when opening a new chapter. This could mean moving to a new town or landing a new job!

1. Before you go ... Time to ditch what's holding you down

This is the beginning of a new chapter in your life, and what better opportunity to cull off those unneeded belongings, self-doubt and past mistakes.

As I counted down the days before packing my bags, I Marie-Kondo-ed the crap out of my things! Old paperwork from school, clothes I never wore, toys and books I no longer felt an attachment to were all recycled or donated. Having a minimalised set of belongings was refreshing and was a great way of expressing gratitude.

Say good bye to regrets and forgive yourself for any mistakes over the past few years. Get in touch with anybody you want to clear the air with. Show yourself some compassion and let bygones be bygones.

2. Getting Comfortable in Your New Home

The good thing about moving out is being able to make your space your own. Express yourself when setting up your room, make sure to bring photos, mementos, quotes, posters or art that you love. Your space needs to inspire you through tedious study sessions as well as being somewhere you can relax and switch off.

Light and warm colours such as whites, yellows, pinks and reds can make us feel calm and happy, while emotive colours like wine-red, golds and deep purples can make us feel inspired and passionate. Keep this in mind while setting up your space.

3. Making New Friends

Often this can be the hardest step for people, saying good bye to friends and family for the first time and setting foot in unfamiliar territory is enough to send some of us into a panic. This being said, the first few weeks are so exciting. This is your best chance to strap up your big girl shoes and meet new people! Remember everybody's in the same situation, they're nervous too.

If you are staying in university accommodation or in an apartment with other students, it's likely there will be events and activities organised by staff to help you meet new people. Use these opportunities! It will be a great chance to meet students who are studying different courses or who have also travelled from other towns or regions.

4. Hobbies and Good Habits

If finding friends with common interests to you is proving difficult, think about joining a local club or sport. This could be a hobby you're already passionate about or a sport you're good at, or maybe something you've always been curious to try but never had a go at. Having a sport or hobby not only introduces you to new places and people, but gives your physical and mental health a much-needed boost. Learning new skills and sharing common interests with others is a great way to break up a heavy workload.

Good habits are a great foundation for a successful year. It's worth sitting down and writing down a few areas you'd like to work on to improve your wellbeing. An example could be keeping a tidy bedroom and staying on top of your laundry, a tidy space is a productive space. In terms of your health, maybe you could include drinking more water and walking to lectures more often to make sure you're keeping active. The difference 30 minutes of physical activity will make to your mood is overwhelming.

5. Learn a New Skill

You've always wanted to extend your French vocabulary, ride a skateboard or perhaps how to bake that cake like your grandma. By the time you come home for the summer break, you could be a master of all three! Living in a new location opens doors you never even knew you wanted to explore. Explore local culture to see what new talents you could take on.

6. Set Your Goals High

Setting a SMART goal is another proven way to get them completed. SMART stands for Specific (eg. I would like to run the next local half marathon). M stands for Measurable (eg. The half marathon is 21km and when I cross the finish line I know I will have achieved my goal). A stands for Attainable (eg. Will I realistically ever be fit enough to complete this race? If I stick to my training schedule, I will be!). R is for Relevant (eg. I enjoy running often and like to push myself to run further, therefore I know this is a goal that is relevant to my lifestyle). Lastly, T is for Timeframe (eg. I have four months of training time before race day, I have enough time to train to be able to achieve my goal).

By incorporating these steps into your goal setting process, you will increase your odds of smashing them out this year!

7. Treat yourself to a new diary.

The best way to keep track of your goals, memories, and feelings is to write them down! A home for daily (or weekly) reflection and goal setting is a great tool for self-improvement and growth. Make a table for tracking your habits and do the same for your goals. Include any important events or deadlines coming up and write down a list of what you want to get done tomorrow before you go to bed each night.

I hope these tips help you smash your first year of university! You got this!

Olivia x

college
Like

About the Creator

Olivia Wallace

Hey, I’m Olivia! I’m a Radiography student in New Zealand. I’m passionate about learning new things, protecting the environment, delicious food and good health. My intentions are to share my discoveries with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.