Education logo

5 Reasons Why You Shouldn’t Stress About Choosing Your Major

Life will sort itself out.

By Christina RussoPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

1. Freshman year is mostly introduction and core classes.

When I was a freshman I had to take all core and introduction classes. I was interested in science (more specifically premed) however I had to take classes like art history and writing for college. I was in no way ever going to be an art historian however I still sat through them because college says these core classes are required. I also took introduction to music which was interesting because the only instrument I’ve ever played was the recorder I was forced to play in third grade.

2. You will probably switch your major several times before settling.

In high school I heard things like, “You’re going to change your major about three times before settling,” and I thought no way I know what I want to do. So here’s my personal story for all of you who are sure you won’t change your mind.

Going into college as a freshman I was a premed biomedical science major and now as a senior I’m a psychology major with biology and cognitive science minors. I thought I wanted to go to medical school to be a pediatrician until I took general chemistry and biology. It took me until sophomore year to realize I really enjoyed my introduction to psychology class and I wanted that instead. I then became a biology and psychology double major because I thought I had the time to take the extra classes. I came to find out I really hated the hard sciences way more than I thought. So then I switched the biology major to a minor because I had the credits from when I thought it was my major. Finally I added cognitive science as a second minor because I had the time and it fits nicely with psychology.

3. You should do an internship.

I cannot stress enough how important it is to get an internship under your belt whether during high school or college. It is extremely helpful to have field experience in your area of interest and it can potentially offer job positions in the future. The main reason why I promote internships so strongly is because once you think you know the field you want to have a career in, do an internship there. Whether it’s for a year or a couple of days, get the experience of what it’s like doing that type of work every day as a full time job. I recommend doing this before junior year of college because if you absolutely hate it you still have time to change your career choice which may require a change of major.

4. College is about trial and error.

You will take so many courses during your college career, most pertaining to your major and minor, and others just as credit fillers. Use the credit fillers to take courses on your interests. Second semester freshman year my roommate was taking introduction to psychology and I figured I’d take it with her just for fun. Little did I know, I would find a new passion and make that my new focus of study.

5. Take time to find yourself.

Going away to college might be the very first time you’re away from home for an extended period of time. You’re probably going to be feeling many different emotions during this process and it could make you lose sight of your identity. People in college typically tend to become more mature and learn how to cooperate with roommates along with many other skills. Through these changes, you may pick up or lose hobbies and interests which can definitely steer your desired career choice. Take the time to sort your life out, find who you are, and what you’re passionate about before settling on a major.

In the end, you probably won’t stick with the exact career plan you came into college with so don’t think anything is set in stone. Allow yourself to find your strengths and interests and let that guide you to your ideal college major.

college
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.