Education logo

5 Nigerian Celebrities Who Used to Be School Teachers

From the blackboard to the big screen

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Nobody knows what the future holds. It's so interesting to see how people end up with the people they end up with, with the jobs they end up with, and the different things they've had to do along the way.

Teaching is one of life's most fundamental and important skills and to develop one's ability to become a good teacher, it takes a lot of practice, training, strength, and patience. Traits a person also needs to make it in the entertainment industry. On today's list, we'll be checking out 5 Nigerian celebrities who left their jobs as teachers to pursue a career in entertainment. Without further ado, here they are.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Yousef

Big Brother Naija contestant Yousef upon coming on the show revealed to Nigerians that he actually used to work as a teacher before coming on the show. Yousef taught secondary school students but said that after the show, he planned on focusing more on modeling, acting, and other jobs in the entertainment sector.

2. Sam Dede

Prolific Nollywood actor Sam Dede, a man who has graced our screens for a very long time and still continues to work in the movie business is also a lecturer. In fact, fellow actor Yul Edochie revealed while celebrating Sam Dede's birthday that he, Sam, actually taught Yul at the University of Port Harcourt. Yul Edochie wrote:

He was my lecturer in the University of Port Harcourt, Theatre Arts Department. He taught us Acting. He laid the foundation for my successful acting career.

3. Saka

Another actor who is passing on the gift of knowledge is funny man, Afeez Oyetoro popularly known as Saka. Saka teaches drama at the Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, Ijanikin in Lagos. Speaking about his decision to teach and act, Saka told The Punch:

There is little or no difference between teaching and acting. I enjoy doing both. When you teach in the classroom, you are officially disseminating information. It is almost the same thing as what an actor does on stage or in a film. An actor entertains and at the same time, passes a message to his audience. My work as a teacher of theatre arts enhances my practical methodology. When I go outside the classroom to act in a movie or on stage, I gain additional experience and bring back it to the classroom. Such experience enhances my teaching methodology.

4. Ozzy Agu

Talented Nollywood actor Ozzy Agu is another man who used to teach children before becoming an actor. In fact, Ozzy says that it was through being a teacher that he discovered his love for acting. He said in an interview with Move Back to Nigeria:

It was during one of my youth development workshops that I realized that in teaching kids, they responded more when we acted out the lesson; it got into their bodies. When we dramatized what we were doing, they’d become fully engaged. Everybody got involved quickly and it came alive. Funny enough, when I was in the university, I had taken some drama classes and that proved useful. After that workshop, I kept thinking about drama and performance and then, towards the end of my service, I did some soul searching and decided I was going to go back to attend the American Academy of Dramatic Arts, New York to study drama. I got in and that was where everything started.

5. Denrele Edun

Eccentric actor, presenter, and provocateur Denrele Edun when talking about his interest in having children revealed that he too used to be a teacher. He said:

I understand children more than many people out there. I know I act like them because there is a little kid in all of us and may be because I used to be a teacher. I took up a teaching job after I left secondary school and I read English Education at the University of Lagos. So I understand the behavioural pattern of kids. And children love that I can understand and listen to them.

Wow! Denrele, Ozzy, Sam Dede, Saka, and Yousef all used to be teachers. Which one of them surprised you the most? Let me know by leaving me a comment on my Facebook post. I'd love to hear what you think.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

teacher
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.