Education logo

3 Scientifically Proven Tips on Stress Management for Test Day

Among superficial tips about eating and hydration, these three tips attack stress at its roots for immediate relief.

By Shauna SPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

It is a truth universally acknowledged that the SAT is one of the greatest stress-inducing tests in existence. Today, I took the SAT. The internet told me that I would never be successful if I flunked this test. My mom told me she wouldn't let me re-take this test ever again. Rumors of even the smartest of kids getting nervous resulting in low marks were spreading throughout the school... The pressure was getting to me. People had such high expectations of me. Whenever they would come to me with kindness and positivity I would just scold them by saying "Don't keep such high expectations because I won't reach them and I'll be the one facing shame, not you." Their shocked faces were expected. After days and days of studying, not studying and then feeling guilty about not studying, the day came closer and closer. I was wrecked with stress and shame. The realization hit me like a truck. I was being counterproductive by being pessimistic and stressed. So, I took it upon myself to actively reduce my stress by following some tips and tricks that I collected from my family and friends and hours of researching on the internet. I tried around 10-15 of these tips that are backed with scientific evidence but these 3 tips were the cream of the cream. On the actual test day, I felt only a healthy amount of stress as compared to my past of skin chewing, leg shaking and blanking out.

Here are the 5 tips that helped me the most:

#1 Write it down

All your worries, feelings, sentiments, even if they're not related to the test, just write it. What helped me the most is to first, write the best case scenario and what will prevent me from achieving that. Then, write down the worst case scenario, what the consequences will be and what you can do to avoid that. When I mean write, I mean WRITE. Pour your heart out with every detail. Actually imagine each scenario. When you do this, you'll realise that you not only reduce stress, you can form a guide along these lines as well. You'll be motivated by knowing the things you have already worked on. Also, by writing down the consequences you'll be able to see how insignificant they really are. Writing has a way of bringing to life a cloudy mess that resides in your head, so you can see it with a fresh perspective. Now, you have an option: either crumple it up and throw it away or stick it on your wall to motivate you. Afterwards, you can keep track of your emotions by writing them down in a journal to track your progress and ensure that crippling anxiety doesn't bubble up again.

#2 Associate the information you're studying to something you like

For example, I love the song 'Can't help Falling in Love' and I have to memorize the quadratic equation. What I'll do is, I'll sing the quadratic equation to the tune of the song. Or if you feel stress come up during a test, imagine a dream world. Start vocalizing ( in your head ) what that would look like and then read the question on the test. So in your head, it should sound like "I'm sitting on a chair made completely of candy and in front of me there is a lake filled with chocolate pudding. It starts raining gummy bears...What is trans esterification?" When you do this, your brain starts associating this stress inducing question with something you love or enjoy, hence, overwhelming emotions are reduced and you will experience a certain amount of peace before continuing.

#3 4-7-8 breathing technique

A breathing technique that helps you sleep on the night before the test and also to alleviate anxiety and bursts of stress is called the 4-7-8 teachnique. It is the most effective breathing technique I've found, compared to ones like alternate nostril breathing and etc. Remember that over time and with repeated practice it becomes more and more powerful. It’s said that at first, its effects aren’t as apparent. You might feel a little lightheaded the first time you try it so try and do it constantly throughout the days leading up to the test so that when you do it on test day it will have the most powerful effect.

Here are the steps:

1) Close your lips, inhaling silently through your nose as you count to four in your head.

2)Then, for seven seconds, hold your breath.

3) Make a whooshing exhale from your mouth for eight seconds.

4) Repeat this cycle four times

Doctors have described this technique as a natural tranquilizer for the nervous system.

Overall, thanks to these 3 scientifically proven tips, I had a pretty smooth test taking experience. I can guarantee that at least 10% of my score can be accounted to these tips. Now, all I have to do is wait for my result! Best of luck for your upcoming test! Study smart, not hard!

student
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.