Education logo

2020 The Pandemic Shutdown Class

A year that college was shutdown

By Thomas l Hammond JrPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I never new my last college experience would be one for the history books. I am legally blind and had struggled my first college experience and finished with a certificate. The fact that I was legally blind rendered me from getting employment for over 7 years,then I was doing a temporary job in the field I had a certificate in H VAC/R doing duct work. The employer I worked for found out I was a registered Technician and ask me why don t you go get your needed credentials for the field ? so I decided to check in to it and found out I could possibly get an Associates in Applied Science with H VAC/R as my program. I struggled the first semester with my eye and magnifications. Well then one of my instructors realized I could not see as well as most ,so he decided to help me with extra lighting and it helped not only with my seeing but my enthusiasm and confidence.I really wanted this so I could open a business in that field. I had barely passed all my classes and we had a break in between semesters. I went back for the rest of what I needed to graduate and was doing OK except for the math and psychology. I was really worried then all of a sudden out of no where the COVID 19 Virus hit and then the shutdown of all the colleges. I was in shock when I found out what now I can not go back then we were able to log in and do the courses on line . The online schedule for the classes was we had more than 3 weeks to catch up on man was that a shock. 5 full time classes on line and over 10 test and 50 assignments to do,I really panicked. I was not going to get my degree then I talked to the director of my program and instructors who talked to the dean. I was so uptight and praying about it then a miracle happened,I was contacted and they said they had adjusted my degree program and it was accepted and I would be receiving my degree. I was so excited and thanking all who were involved and God for the miracle and so I am a graduate of 2020 the class of the Pandemic Shutdown.

degree
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.