Education logo

13 Pictures Only People Who Attended Primary School In Nigeria Will Get.

Quick trip down memory lane.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
2

Quick trip down memory lane.

A Nigerian childhood experience is very unique. There’s nothing like growing up in Nigeria. One thing a lot of us remember very vividly no matter how old we are now was our primary school memories. You can’t ever forget it, especially if you did primary school in Nigeria, you remember it – sometimes even fondly even though at the time there was nothing funny or good about it.

We’re living in some really serious times and so to just release a little bit of nostalgia and have a little bit of a good time in the mix of it all, I wanted to create a post that was just fun, light, and nostalgic. I hope you like it.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Names of noise-makers

I was the perfect student in my class, yes, I was THAT person the mantle of “writing the names of noisemakers” always fell on. There was no greater power high than this that year.

2. “Pick pin”

This phrase is a phrase that if you’re not a Nigerian, you will never be able to even guess correctly what it means. But as a Nigerian, the phrase “pick pin” is oh so familiar and we all still know the feeling and reaction that phrase evokes in us.

E no funny!

3. End of year party guests

Did it ever pass these two? If it’s not Father Christmas, it’s Barney. Sometimes if you were lucky, you would get Teletubbies or a cartoon superhero.

4. This family

You know them. I know them. We all know this family.

5. P.E. Uniform

There was no uniform more dreaded than P.E. Uniform for many reasons – it is the one that always seemed to get lost the most. It is the one you always forgot to wash. It is the one they used to give punishment for the most. Then worst of all, if ever you were that person who urinated on your clothes in school, P.E. Uniform was the last thing you wanted to wear because it basically symbolized to the whole school that you wee-d on yourself.

6. Pencil to Pen

It was the biggest level-up of that year. It was what we all used to look forward to. Graduating from pencil to pen.

7. This eraser

This eraser had so many stories and rumors attached to it, most especially that one side was for pencil and one side was for biro.

Also, this eraser NEVER finishes. Legend has it that the same eraser you bought all those years ago has not finished is still being used by a pupil today.

8. Quantitative Reasoning

Everybody’s worst subject. Asking somebody unnecessary questions. Till this day, when my cousins bring me quantitative reasoning assignment, me I jejely turn my face.

9. Did I say quantitative reason was the worst subject?

Sorry, Maths just entered this chat.

God, I hated maths. Still very much do.

10. THESE SOCKS!!!

No matter how many different types of socks they sold at market, everybody still managed to get this one. It was the ceremonial socks of primary school. A rite of passage really!

11. The shoes to match.

Do you remember these sandals? That’s a trick question, of course you remember these sandals!

12. Flute abi Recorder.

WE DON’T WANT TO LEARN OHHH!!!

The way they really pushed this flute on somebody and I still don’t know one person who can play the flute.

13. Exercise Books

Does this exercise book ring a bell?

This one nko?

At least one must to ring a bell! Speaking of bell…

**RING RING RING**

That’s All.

**Don’t forget to LIKE my page so you don’t miss out on cool lists, stories, and fun articles:

I'm sure you've loved reading this piece. To make sure you keep having fun and don't miss out on any fun in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page above. It's a really fun page and you're really going to love it. So what's stopping you? Like it!

To catch up other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

student
2

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.