Earth logo

Where are the trees?

The importance of trees to me and all of us

By Bé HaiPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
2
Taken in 2018

Since I was born, I have lived in the countryside, but it is relatively close to the city center where I live. Since childhood, every step I took, every road I took was filled with green trees. Even then, when I went out, I never cared about whether I brought a hat or a coat or not. Because those roads are filled with trees on both sides of the road. That road has only one drawback: when it rains, the road becomes very muddy, which made me very tired every time I went to school. At that time, I just wished that a concrete road would appear.

When I was in 8th grade, that concrete road appeared, and I thought this would be a wonderful thing. That's right, I got to school faster, didn't get stuck in the mud on rainy days, I was very happy. But that joy is not free, it is paid for by the coolness that I am enjoying. When that road grew, the green trees on both sides became less

At that time I didn't pay attention because there were too many trees. If one or two trees are removed, there will still be many others. But I was wrong, the construction of this road had a huge impact that I didn't realize at the time. When there are many roads, it's easy to move around and the area I stay in is close to the city center. Land prices at that time increased rapidly, many land areas posted "Land for sale" signs. phone number to contact.

After that, many plots of land were sold. They cut down all the trees in that area. I don't blame them at all. On the contrary, I sympathize with them. Here, most people, including my family, live by farming. The work is very hard but they don't have much extra money, just enough to eat and wear. When land prices increase, it acts as a lifeline for their entire family.

Sending children to college is very difficult for families here because the cost is relatively high compared to the income of the people here. To send their children to college, they have to work 2 or 3 jobs at the same time to have enough money to pay tuition.

Tell me a little about my situation during the Covid-19 epidemic

December 2019 COVID-19 appeared. On January 23, 2020, it arrived in the country I live in.

At that time, I had a 3-month long break from school. It was actually the longest break I had ever experienced.

Then we went to school wearing masks. Although it's a bit difficult to breathe, it's the best way for me to both prevent disease and study.

In 2022, COVID-19 has invaded almost the entire area where I live, including one person in my family who was infected with COVID 19, that is my father.

At this time I was in my second year of university at a local school. At the present time, I feel in crisis when there are not many trees. Everything was so hot, so hot that I couldn't stop sweating. There is no more shade, only very few trees remain. Under the sun from 25˚C to 36˚C, I realized the importance of trees, it helps my life a lot. By the time I realize this, will it be too late? What should I do to save the current situation? With about a month left until the rainy season, some places in my country already lack fresh water.

The video was filmed in 2022 while it was .

NatureClimate
2

About the Creator

Bé Hai

Thank you for viewing my article. My name is Hai, I am 21 years old this. I want to share many stories about the countryside where I live. I hope everyone will like it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 13 days ago

    Countryside trees! Well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.