Earth logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

UFC 290 fight card

Robbie Lawler Octagon Interview | UFC 290 - RETIREMENT FIGHT

By Azeem TajPublished 12 months ago 4 min read

ladies and gentlemen referee Mark Goddard is called a stop in this contest at 38 seconds of the very first round declared the winner by no no [Music] ruthless Robin I'm here with the winner ladies and gentlemen for the last time ruthless Robbie Lawler and that was a storybook ending to an absolutely spectacular career you couldn't have asked for it to turn out any better yeah I mean it was a it was a hard training camp nothing was going right today was the first day I felt good my feet were moving really good so I was like okay I'm gonna do something pretty good today and just happen to land some big bombs that's an understatement sir let's take a look at it I want you to enjoy this the last kale of your absolutely spectacular career you caught him in the clinch and some big uppercuts here you knew you had them hurt tell me what was the feeling like when you saw him drop I was good it was just the ending of a career I was Landing some big shots in in good places temples chin just it was too much I was moving well and it's just nice to end my career like this these fans have been great this week media has been great thank you for the years of support Robbie it's beautiful to see you go out and go out on top and go out looking like the Robbie Lawler of old the Robbie Lawler that we have all been very honored and privileged to watch perform and I want to take a look at all those moments tonight let's show you a highlight of your absolutely spectacular career I've been doing this for a long time fighting pretty much my whole life I just love competing and I love what I do it's play to me Robbie Lawler is built different than most people an absolute Savage he always goes in and throws everything with bad intentions when you talk about what fight fans like to see Robbie Lawler embodied all of that he's one of the most incredible athletes to ever compete for sport ruthless you talk about Born to Fight enter Robbie Lawler there are going to be times though we all come and we all go but you leave lasting members Robbie Lawler has lasted memories [Applause] people he is Relentless he is ruthless he wants to knock you out and take your head off he's a pure Savage big shot and another what a finish to Robbie Lawler that's how you fight championship fights [Applause] that's it [Music] the welterweight champion Bobby Lawler he's one of my favorite Fighters you ever watch live it's always a treat to get to see him perform no matter what happens I keep coming and I'm trying to knock people out foreign you're a pretty stoic guy but this is an emotional moment for you I want you to enjoy it I want you to tell me what this feels like oh man it's it's amazing I've had a long career I have a I've had a lot of people help me get to where I am today without them none of this is possible and I'm blessed I'm grateful and I'm grateful to be there to watch it it's been an honor to call your fights thank you for everything ladies and gentlemen for the last time ruthless Robbie Lawler ever since its Inception in 2012 All Eyes in the Combat Sports Universe turned to one place the bright lights of Sin City and Las Vegas Nevada for the biggest blowout event of the year in MMA a global showcase known as International fight week and tonight worlds are set to collide with two titles on the line run a unification bout of the highest order and one of the most Stacked Cards of 2023 as one of the greatest featherweights of all time Returns the Australian Juggernaut who has never lost at 145 pounds in his MMA career they can't bring me down maintaining a historic strongholds the longest active winning streak in the division at 12. complete domination of arrivals Hall of Famers and Legendary Champions Alexander the Great has no plans for his rule to end yohir rigas definitely has my respect but at the same time I'm going to show you that I can systematically break anybody down yet the pride of Mexico isn't satisfied with the interim title to unify the featherweight belts and bring it to his home country is all that matters El Pantera is a nasty complex Striker who puzzles opponents with his unique stand-up game what an elbow Rodriguez the Mexican Star electrifies every time out with the most post-fight bonuses in featherweight history Rodriguez is the interim UFC featherweight champion and Alex is really good but I always prepare myself to fight the best guy in the world and I'm gonna win it doesn't get better than this for the featherweight goal in the co-made event the flyweight title is on the line and it's another Mexican superstar who owns the championship the baby-faced assassin who closed out the greatest rivalry in the division's history with a loud bang is here to remind everyone that all roads to Glory have to go through him yet history has a way of repeating itself and what the Challenger did in 2018 was deal the current champion a blow has been on a war path to destroy all contenders he's one of the greatest finishers in the division's history and he's ready to win back a title for Brazil the stage is set and the flags are flying high International fight week culminates with two title fights and history in the ballots will the gold stay in Australia with a generational fighter whose greatness knows no bounds or does the fighting spirit for Mexico leave with a title wrapped around his waist live from the sold out T-Mobile arena in Las Vegas Nevada it's UFC 290 bokonovsky vs Rodriguez and it starts right now

Sustainabilityshort storyScienceNatureHumanityClimateAdvocacy

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ATWritten by Azeem Taj

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.