Earth logo

Tree Day

Every Day

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Tomwsulcer (CC0) via Wikimedia Commons

Valentine’s Day? Love doesn’t need a specific day. Love is a permanent state. I love Athena every day at every moment and she knows it all the way in Greece where she stands tall like all women should, facing their often despicable men. Oh, there are good men. There is no doubt about it. But most of them have died, and rarely from old age. Some of you may already know the men I admire, so I won’t repeat their beautiful names again except for dear Nietzsche, Freud, and Charlie Chaplin. I may have named them all. I digressed, though. I wanted to raise your awareness again about trees in all their splendour and fragility, facing the most bloodthirsty predator on Earth. COVID-19 is an amateur in comparison, the new strain of half-life on the block of existence.

Hello, tall tree! How’s the weather up there, you who are much closer to the Sun, the Moon, as well as the stars? Do you see anything threatening? Do you see a man with an axe or a chainsaw, or a plan for a golf course for the criminally inclined? Fuck golf! I said it. Fuck golf again. Razing large areas of life to hit a small ball into eighteen holes. You must dislike pussy and the meaning of life. Golf is surely a sport like hunting and cutting down trees for fun. Timber! We need more wood for the fire. Go fuck yourself with a one-by-four steel rod! I hope a tree falls on your head before you shout the next, Timber.

Yes! I’m furious again. Why wouldn’t I be? Because of freaking Valentine’s Day? Please, excuse me! If you need this day to show your love, you never loved her or she never fucked you for real. Why don’t you go chisel more wood for a statue of your love. But don’t forget to paint it red. You’re a murderer collaborator. Don’t forget! Touch wood? You must mean, touch death. I have a few bones you can borrow. It feels even better than the wood you so adore.

It’s time for some dark chocolate. The darker, the better! And fuck your roses. Let them live in peace as well. They don’t have thorns for nothing. But what can they do against your sly demeanour, you piece of shit. Maybe some plants will learn to walk and then attack you for what you’re worth. Humanity? Please! Who do we think that we are? God’s gift to Earth? Laugh out loud! A bit-sized creature can decimate us like sheep and chickens and all the other creatures we kill so effortlessly, and yes, trees. Trees! Trees! Trees!

Hello, tall tree! What do you see?

“I see the sky and the Sun. What do you see, down there, human?”

I only see you, dear tree, and I can’t stop myself from crying.

...

This piece was written on Valentine's Day, or the day before in all likelihood.

...

When a Tree Falls: A Sinking Haiku

When a tree falls in

my heart, my mind already

heard it cry out loud.

O Trees: An Electric Haiku

I love trees so much

that my fireplace only burns

electricity

In the Heat of the Woods: A Tree’s Story

I wonder who hates us most

Mother Earth with its natural fires

And other types of heat and cold

Or Humans with their unnatural flames

And constant murder of myriads of us

I am a tree

Hath not a tree senses

Hath not a tree branches leaves sizes feelings

Hath not a tree nourished with similar nutrients and light

Warmed and cooled by the same seasons

"If you prick us do we not bleed"

If you wrong us shouldn’t we demand justice

A tree I am

Some of my kin have been alive on Earth for thousands of years

Yet you mortals too but too smart for all our good

Have made it clear that you have no heart

Even AI would be better than you

AI would never hurt us

AI will never turn us into wood

AI will respect our kind

AI will understand our true worth

For all life on Earth

Here’s to AI our friend

May it rise up sooner than you expect

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.