Earth logo

Those who make us painful criticism, is the real valuable treasure

The truth behind the criticism

By Kevin ButtigiegPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

What the hell are you doing with this program? It simply doesn't work at all.

Have you studied this plan carefully? It doesn't make sense.

I've never seen a product that's harder to use than this.

We often hear this kind of negativity.

No matter what we're doing, how much work we've put into it, someone will always come along and make accusations about what we've done.

Even if we do a good job, they always have a way to pick the bones out of the eggs.

Such accusations can make us feel angry, painful, embarrassed, and even begin to deny ourselves.

Even strong-minded people can hardly stand up to such accusations and not be affected at all.

It is as if these fault-finding people are a thorn in our side, bringing us a stab of pain whenever we touch them.

So we only plug our ears and pretend to turn a deaf ear, pretending that they have not had the slightest impact on us.

But in fact, their existence is so that we mind, let us suffer.

But there are two sides to everything, as the saying goes, good medicine is bitter, we only seem to notice its bitterness, but ignore its greater value of it.

These criticisms and accusations are extremely valuable and rare nutrients on our growth path.

And those who attack us wantonly are not our enemies at all, their role may be more valuable than that of a mentor.

To know that our growth needs feedback, if we can not get the right feedback, our actions are like walking in the dark.

Imagine if you practiced playing golf in the dark. In a dark situation, if there is no feedback, no guidance, only our own words, not to mention hitting the correct posture or not, I am afraid that even the golf ball, we do not know where to hit it to.

Li Shimin once said that if we use a bronze mirror, we can correct our clothes, and if we use a human mirror, we can understand the gains and losses and avoid making mistakes ourselves.

So get feedback from others, to better correct themselves and improve themselves.

Of course, there are times when this feedback is not soft and does not sound so comfortable.

They are even harsh words, criticism, and rebuke.

Such feedback is not nice, and can even sting us, so no one wants to hear it, but they work.

Once someone told me why my clothes were always wrinkled and looked awful.

I should say I never cared until he said so, and naturally, I never got into the habit of hanging up my clothes specifically.

Before going out I was only concerned about whether or not I was dressed but never cared if the fabric was flat.

As a result, I only noticed it after he said so.

I also just found out that the clothes you wear, to a certain extent, determine other people's opinions and evaluations of you.

You think some small issues are harmless, but others have already come to their judgment based on them. Later, I began to pay attention to these details and would confirm the condition of my clothes before going out, not necessarily wearing expensive clothes, but trying to keep them as flat and clean as possible.

Then there was another time when someone said to me that what you say is just repeated over and over again, the content is the same, and you have not grown in knowledge at all.

At that time this sounded strongly humiliating to me, and I was very angry about it.

Although I didn't lose my temper, it did haunt me for a long time. I have always complained in my mind that this person does not know anything, what qualifies him to arrive at such a judgment, he simply does not understand, not clear how much effort I put in.

Then, after I had calmed down, when I reflected on it once again, I realized that he was right.

Very little of what I said was indeed new, as long as it had been reused all the time after revision.

I should indeed spend more time adding new knowledge so that I can keep up with the times.

You know before I heard that person's criticism, I was always in a peaceful state and never felt anything wrong.

But it was his feedback that kept nagging at me. While it made me angry and made me furious, it also promoted me to make changes.

No matter what time of day it is, it is hard to find out what the problem is through ourselves.

And we can't always have the ideal mentor with us.

Those who criticize us may say harsh words as if they were our enemies.

But you have to admit that sometimes it is they who are more likely to find our minor flaws and shortcomings.

They may have exaggerated things to hit and sarcasm us, but what they say usually has a root cause.

If we can discard the sarcastic tone, break up those sarcastic words and look at it with a normal heart, we will find that behind their accusations and criticisms, there is an exceptionally precious grain of truth hidden.

That is our weaknesses, our shortcomings.

If we can find it and make changes to it, even if it is just a small change, it will have a great effect on our self-improvement.

Their words are more like good medicine than sugar-coated bullets, and although they are bitter and hard to swallow, they are good for our growth.

So when the next time your side again appears those faultfinding people, when they again give those once let our pain, anger, depression criticism.

You should probably lift the fog in front of you, evaporate the bad influence, and peel out the precious essence from it.

Accept it positively and let it be the energy to keep improving yourself.

As you continue to move up the ladder. There will be fewer and fewer people who can point out our problems, and then you will find that the existence of these people is so precious that we should cherish it.

Science
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Buttigieg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.