Earth logo

The story of flying above the mountains

Everest Base Camp Helicopter tour

By Himalayan MastersPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like

Viewing Everest has always been a dream. Getting to view one of the highest peaks in the world. Without much effort and budget, it is really a blessing. I did want to travel to Nepal a few years back, but back then, the helicopter tours to the Himalayas were very expensive, and I didn't have enough time for a month-long trekking. Thankfully, now you can complete the Everest tour in less than two hours from Kathmandu, the capital city of Nepal. So I will completed this trip no the Christmas holiday last December, and I really wanted to share my experience with you guys.

When I started to look at some of the helicopter Tour operators in Kathmandu, I found that many people have genuinely recommended Himalaya Masters. That is when I looked at their Everest base camp helicopter tour package and found out that they have the most reasonable price for the facilities they provide. I immediately send them an email and my booking was confirmed in less than 1 day. Then I booked my flight from New York to kathmandu. Since American citizen do not need to apply for tourist visa to Nepal beforehand, I just booked by tickets online and then travelled to Nepal.

It was along 16 hour flight but I was finally in KATHMANDU. I took two rest days while exploring the important cultural heritage of the city such as Kathmandu Durbar Square and Pashupatinath Temple. After the extensive city tours, I had my flight to Everest base camp on the third day. The journey started at around 8 AM in the morning when I was taken through the domestic terminal of Tribhuvan international Airport. At the airport the pilot gave us a short introduction session and briefing before we fly for about 25 minutes to Lukla.

Our first landing was done in Lukla where we first saw the mountains shining before us. We captured many beautiful photos and pictures before flying to the Everest base camp. The Helicopter hovered over the mountain and made its second landing at Kala Pathar. We were told that Kala Pathar is the highest viewpoint point for the trekkers and also the best view point of the Everest. I was stunned when I landed at Kala Pathar. The view here was unimaginably beautiful. We captured many photos and videos in about 20 minutes before getting back to our plane. Then, we did our 3rd landing was Everest view hotel which took us only about 10 minutes in the flight. Everest view hotel is one of the highest altitude hotel in the world and very luxury structure. Here we were offered a delicious breakfast while enjoying the last glimpse of the Everest and many other mountains in the region.

After about 30 minutes in Everest view Hotel the plane took it’s way back to Kathmandu. The guide briefed about the national parks, hills, and rivers along the way while we landed at Kathmandu in less than 30 minutes. Although the journey last only 2 hours, this is by far the most memorable trip of my life. Rahul definitely love to go to the Everest again but maybe this time I will be able to manage my time for trekking.

Unlike the popular belief, Nepal is a beautiful country to visit and also very safe. The pilot where experienced and the plane was in very good condition. I definitely recommend this trip for people who dream about visiting the most unique landmark in the Earth but do not have a lot of time and budget.

You can contact the Himalayan Masters directly as well.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Himalayan Masters

We are a popular travel agency in Nepal, offering all kinds of treks and travel packges.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.