Earth logo

THE SCARLET LAND

protecting the scarlet mc

By Adriane KirbyPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1
THE SCARLET LAND
Photo by Gagandeep Singh on Unsplash

Hello there friend, my name is Callula, and I have been flying around trying my hardest to stay out of trouble all day. If you haven't guest I am a fairy. I have been known to get into mischief. But it is just my way of having fun. Last week I tried to use my magic wand to make Twyla's nose bigger. Guess what, it worked. And oh boy was it funny! I laughed and laughed at Twyla and the big nose I had made for her. Our queen Lola, who is the queen of all the fairies was not amused. She made me change Twyla's nose back to normal. Then she took away my wand for privileges for 3 days. So this is why I am trying to keep out of trouble today. It is getting time for me to go back home. Hey why don't you come along with me. I would love to show you my home, it is like nothing you have ever seen. Grab my hand I will lead the way.

I guess I should tell you about my home before we get there. You see I live deep in the forest the land is called Scarlett Land. Not many know about it so please keep what I am about to show you a secret. The last thing we want is for the evil giants to destroy our forest. The evil giants have destroyed many forest for their own gain. We don't want that happening to our forest so remember Scarlett Land has got to stay a secret. Our forest is one of the most beautiful places on earth, you are going to love it. We have green trees as far as the eye can see. The sun shines bright most days and it never really gets cold. The grass and the leaves are as green as emeralds and there are many giant special flowers that grow in our forest. I will tell you about them later. There is also a beautiful river that is close to our home. I love playing in that river, all of my friends do to. Sometimes it rains, but you know what, I love playing in the rain, so I don't mind at all.

There is something else I should tell you about Scarlett Land, it is an enchanted forest. It is magical and wonderful, I bet you have never been to an enchanted forest before. You are in for a real treat, after all everyone loves magic, you may even see a unicorn. Oh! I hope you do get to see one, they are so beautiful. In the forest everything has it's own magic. You can talk to the squirrels and the trees. Some of the trees are old and grumpy, but you can talk to them anyway. We fairies always use our magic for good and protect our forest and our friends. Our queen Lola says protecting our forest is our main mission, we have got to keep our home safe. She says that this is not only for us, but for our friends as well. Our friends are beautiful I will make sure you meet them when we arrive.

And here we are welcome to my home! This is Scarlet Land. Do you see how beautiful everything is. Just like I told you, there are green trees as far as the eye can see. It is a beautiful day the sun is shining so bright I just want to dance in it's rays. Look at me, I can fly from tree to tree, I love my home. I hope I never have to leave. This is why Queen Lola says we have to work so hard to protect it. Scarlet Land is the heart of our village and we have lived here 100's of years. The mushrooms are our homes. The giant mushroom is the Queens castle. It is beautiful inside her castle. Everything is made of crystal and everything is magic. Over to the left is my mushroom house. That is my sister Twyla outside. Be careful not to let her see you! I know she will tell on me. She loves getting me in trouble, I wish I could use my wand to grow her a tail. But it is not worth risking my wand privileges. Or is it, how are they gonna know I was the one that did it. I think I am going to go for it. Let me wave my wand, and Alakazam!! grow a big tail. Oh look she has one, she grew a big tail. My stomach is cramping I am laughing so hard. Let's go before anyone sees us, I want to show you the river.

Isn't the river beautiful, the water is almost crystal clear. Have you ever seen butterflies so big. I bet they don't have them that big in your world. Our butterflies have beautiful giant wings with shades of red and purple. They are part of what makes our forest special. Look over to the right do you see those beautiful birds, 2 of them are flying together. Look at how many colors the the birds have. They have shades of red and blue, and yellow. They have large beaks they use to crack nuts. Let me tell you more about them. The Scarlet Macaws are our friends that live with us in the enchanted forest. These are our friends we are trying to protect. They are so smart and very friendly, some of them can even mimic what we say. Macaws are the largest parrots in the world can be as long as 33 inches from beak to tail. They rely on the forest as their home, like we do. They live and sleep in the trees And when they get ready to nest a lot of the times they will do that in the holes of the trees. They fly during the day to find food for there young, that is what those 2 birds are doing. The macaws find one partner to mate with, and they keep that partner for a life time.

But there is something sad happening. The Scarlet Macaws have become endangered. You remember the evil giants I told you about. They have become endangered because of them. The evil giants hunt the Scarlet Macaws all the time. They trap them to keep them as pets. They trap them so they can use there features for decoration. Us fairies do everything we can to protect them. But you see since the Scarlett Macaws are not magic a fairies magic does not really work to keep the birds safe. We have to us the magic of a special flower that grows deep within our forest. The flower's name is Magoliza, this flower is beautiful and full of magic, and very large. I would take you and show you one, but we would have to go deep in our forest and I am sure you don't want to do that. My queen uses the Magoliza to make a special potion to try to keep the Scarlet Macaw safe. But there is a problem with the Magoliza as well.

You see as I told you before the evil giants are destroying our forest. Thank goodness they have not found our village yet. The fairies and the Macaws that live in our village are safe. But there is danger, because the giants are destroying our forest they are also destroying our Magoliza flower that we use to keep our Scarlett Macaw friends safe. We are running out of the flower and our magic will not have any ability to keep our friends safe once the flower is gone. The evil giants think they have rights to everything. They do not care that they are destroying the habitat of our friends. My queen says she can not stress enough how important it is to save the forest and the habitats for our birds. These birds are so beautiful but Queen Lola says that there are only 50,ooo of them left in the world, and they need all of our help. If the evil giants keep destroying our forest not only will our magic flower be gone, but so will the Scarlet Macaws.

So I am showing you all of this to ask for your help. I know you will want to do what you can. I mean you see how beautiful and innocent our Macaw friends are. They deserve to have their home safe just like anything else. Even with all the magic fairies have, we can only do so much. "Callula, come here." Oh no did you hear that? That is the queen calling me. "Callula get over here, I know you put that tail on you sister." Oh boy! I better go home. Hey I am going to have you show yourself out of our forest. I am sure you know the way. I don't want to get in any more trouble. If the Queen finds out I have brought you here, I will really be in for it. Just remember what I told you and please do what you can to help. I hope you realize the world will not be the same with out our friends the Scarlet Macaws or our enchanted forest.

Nature
1

About the Creator

Adriane Kirby

Living the dream here in Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.