Earth logo

the joy of remembering

soul retrieval through earthen plaster art

By kenya wrightPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2021
35

As a youth, Lion King was one of my favorite movies. One line that stays with me is the spirit of Mufasa encouraging Simba to "remember who you are." Over the years, there have been many times when I've questioned who I am and where I am going. My process as an earthen plaster artist helps me to remember with a new level of depth. A fountain of happiness is beginning to erupt as I ground myself in a knowing that is free from doubt.

So who am I?

I am ancient, I am an artist, I am of African descent. Creating earthen plaster art installations helps me to remember the past that I have been severed from. When I experience clay plaster, my body relaxes into a slurry of comfort and recognition that spans beyond my lifetime. It's as if my DNA carries the memories of my ancestors who lived in clay homes in West Africa.

Indigenous tribes all over Africa continue to decorate earthen homes with beautiful paints and plasters today. Although I was not brought up in a lineage that continues this practice, I have gathered the skills to translate the visions in my head to bless walls and floors with love. These visions come straight from the spirit realm. I believe they are shared with me to spread joy and remembering in all of us.

water color project sketch

My heart brought me to this work. Looking back at my life, I can create a narrative for it, but it's felt like a decades long journey following seemingly random leaps in my heart. Back in middle school, I toured a straw bale building and made a mental note that I would build my home that way. This note was placed delicately in the back of my mind while I pursued a number of other things. Upon graduation from Brown University, I biked across the US as my summer of fun. I had every intention of pursuing international environmental law and policy afterwards. I stumbled upon a natural building program on the way and thought "this is it! this is how I'll learn to build my home! law school can wait..." After experiencing each stage of construction, I realized there was something special about plaster. Years later I found myself on a plaster crew yearning to fill the walls with clay based art. I wanted to inspire the world with beauty and shift the way we view homes. I am beginning to realize this dream with a number of art installations this summer. My heart is happy.

first layer of plaster and the carving are complete!

Working with earth helps me to remember my connection to her. With every inhale, the sweet scent of soil wafts through my nostrils. Standing near the walls, I enjoy the slight addition of humidity coming off the drying panels. It's a relief on a warm day.

Water is life, and the insects know it! Within minutes, beautiful creatures gravitate towards the water in the walls. They are covered in brilliant colors and patterns. A lime green caterpillar, a voluptuous spider, a small bug with black, white, yellow, red, and blue geometric shapes on its back.

spiral and flower sculpting

As the homemade clay paint is applied, I feel a surge of delight every time my eyes catch the bold colors and the sensual flowers. The sound of the plaster spreading on the walls is satisfying. The feel of the soft, squishy, warm, wet mix soothes my hand. There's so much for the senses to take in.

As I carve out a magenta flow and sculpt teal flowers, I am reminded of little Kenya. That 6 year old who would sit outside and imagine her dream home of happiness. 144 rooms, each room a different world. One full of marble, one full of bubbles, one full of slides. Essentially a playground for anyone and everyone. I would sit and envision as many details as possible and think of everyone I knew. I wanted to make sure there was a room for each of them.

trimming straw before touch ups and paint

As I trim straw pieces that are sticking out of the plaster, I am reminded of teenage Kenya. That 16 year old who would sit downstairs and work well into the night on art history projects. I was meticulous about every detail. I went above and beyond to creatively depict reports on famous works through art.

Remembering my younger selves and my ancient lineage bring peace and joy. I remember my bravery and capability. I remember my connection to nature and my heart. I remember my boldness and my creativity. I remember the strength of my spirit before my self esteem took a hit or tasks of the mind became a priority. Remembering allows me to retrieve my true nature and let go of anxiety and depression. I remember that I am enough.

As I alchemize clay, sand, straw, and water, I alchemize myself. I remember who I am.

I am of the earth, I am golden, and I am joyful.

Humanity
35

About the Creator

kenya wright

i’m an earthen plaster artist, healer, and doula. i teach a course on emotional liberation. i’m out here following my heart and bringing beauty into the world <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.