Earth logo

The Importance of Nature For Wellbeing.

How our environment affects our mindset and health.

By Heather TaylorPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2
The Importance of Nature For Wellbeing.
Photo by Steven Kamenar on Unsplash

Firstly, I want to start this article by saying I’m not an expert or professional, when it comes to well-being or health in any way; I’ve just found what works for me when it comes to the things I’m going to mention.

We all know that nature has it’s benefits, getting fresh air and moving our bodies are definitely important lifestyle choices that can deeply benefit us, this is proven in lots of ways but I feel like the strongest impact nature has on me personally, is that it can bring me peace and comfort when I feel overwhelmed, stressed or when I need to think.

In the hardest moments, the thing that has motivated me most is the desire to get outside and explore again. Even if that looks like just sitting on a bench, looking at my surroundings, or taking my dog to the local nature spots.

Getting out, even in the cold.

I like to really take in nature and it helps me to feel gratitude in hard situations, bringing me back to focus on what needs dealing with. I know that I am so lucky to be able to explore and wander and experience beautiful, safe spaces and that provides me with a lot of comfort and calmness.

I like to do a mindfulness technique when I’m on my walks, I learnt about it through multiple podcasts and articles, where you name five things you can see, four things you can hear, three things you can feel, two things you can smell and one thing you can taste. You can change this to your own preference, for example, you may be able to hear more than you can see, so the numbers can be adjusted.

While doing this, I noticed I get focused on what’s happening around me, I feel grounded, I get enjoyment and I am able to finish this practice with more clarity than before. Plus it makes me more knowledgeable about the area that I’m in, or I appreciate how beautiful a colour can look in nature.

I very much believe that people are meant to get outside, even if just for a five minute sit down, if that’s all that you have the time or ability for.

Sat in the garden after the rain

My grandma is in her 90s and feels trapped as her mobility issues worsen but, with the help of walking aids, she is able to sit in her garden on a sunny day and genuinely feels like a different person, after just a few moments of being able to feel the warmth of the sun and take a breath of fresh air.

Peace is found in nature for my mum, my partner and many of my friends and people who I’ve known over the years. My partner particularly likes to separate the stresses of work from home, by going for a walk immediately after he gets home, before he tries to do anything relaxing in the home.

I feel like out in nature, the world feels calmer. Even while sat inside, watching the rain or a storm, a huge sense of calm comes over me, I have a huge respect for nature. The reminder that even the smallest tree can weather the strongest wind is really powerful and gives me a sense of reassurance when times seem difficult.

I love being outside in all weathers and in all conditions, from a snowy walk, to sitting on warm sand at the beach, to working in the forest, to just being out and about in my town or exploring a new city or country for the first time, nature is always a beneficial place to be.

By Max van den Oetelaar on Unsplash

I’ve always grown up camping and playing outside and around animals who also massively benefit from nature, I love observing birds and squirrels, rabbits and larger animals, while taking time in nature and I respect the planet, caring for animals and the environment also brings me great joy and mental peace and clarity.

All this is say, I think the best self-care you can do, is to get outside and deeply take in the nature. Do the senses activity, drink your morning coffee outside, walk just to walk, do a meditation or just enjoy a snack or meal outside, never forget the importance of nature and the many benefits, from fresh air, to vitamin D, to exercise, to peace.

This may not be my best piece, but if it motivates even one person to enjoy the outside a little more than they had planned, then I’ve done the right thing and I’m happy to share my joy of nature with you readers.

Take care, get outside and enjoy your natural environment, H x

NatureHumanityAdvocacy
2

About the Creator

Heather Taylor

I’m Heather, I’m a writer, in that I love journaling, self-expression, self-discovery.

I write for myself usually but I’m looking to share some thoughts and ideas from my many, many, experiences, from travel to loss and all things in between

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Serhat Köse11 months ago

    Nature is a doctor who can give man the best treatment. nice article keep it up.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.