Earth logo

Sunset Spain

1

By Marya SchPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

I'm a bull. They call me Marshal, which means Marshal. Next to me, there was another bull. It was Monarch, I heard them say, that's what the king means. They also say our scientific name is bullfight.

We grew up on this farm, Monarch was my only friend, I never called him that, I just called him Crossbow, like he just called me fool.

We had been separated for as long as I could remember, but we were not far apart, and from my house I could see the other cows' houses. We didn't have to work. We were taught to be angry, and that was something I had a hard time learning. Maybe I was just a stupid cow.

Red often irritates my companions, but I do not. I like it very much. It is a fiery color, and somewhat like the clouds in the west every evening. Whenever I stupidly watched a western sunset, The crossbow would tease me from a distance: "Fool, the sun is going down. We're supposed to look at the noonday sun. That's the best."

I've never understood what it takes to be the best cow, and the best cow, they say, is taken away from this farm, never to come back. Maybe they've made a good life and don't miss their friends here anymore. Anyway, no bullfight ever came back, and I even began to envy them. I want to get out of here and see the sunset somewhere else. The Crossbow thought the same thing, but he didn't care about sunsets. He just wanted to prove that he was the best bull. In fact, it's always been the best among us.

The day we had been looking forward to had finally arrived. I was even a little excited to shake, although I did not know where to go, what to do, but to see the determined eyes of The Crossbow, I felt at ease.

We were in different places, and it was dark, and I heard a lot of noise outside, and it seemed like there were a lot of people, and they were cheering, and they were exclaiming. I'm a little scared. I just want to see the sky, see the sun going down.

As crossbow was being led out, I couldn't see his face clearly as he passed by me, but I could clearly hear him proudly saying, "Fool, we can finally be the best cows. I'll go ahead of you. I'll wait for you. I've been expecting you. Today, I think, I will accompany you to watch the sunset. Today, I couldn't be happier." I began to hope that they would take me out as soon as possible. I wanted to be with The Crossbow. It was my best friend.

After an hour, a man dressed in silver came up to me. He looked at me from a distance, lowered his head and said to his partner, "Oh, it's too thin. Will it work?" I cried out in a hurry: "I am the best, take me away, take me away!" But they didn't understand. To their ears it was just a moo. His companion seemed to like the sound of my voice: "Oh, listen to it, it sounds good. Time doesn't allow you to think that much. It's time to get out." I'm so happy that I can finally be with The crossbow.

It was bright outside and I could barely open my eyes as I struggled to adapt to my surroundings. At last I saw that I was in the middle of a round field, on a loess floor, surrounded by people sitting high up and Shouting. I want to go around and see where the Crossbow is.

I think I see it... They were dragging him through a door, and he was lying on the ground with his round eyes open, and under him was a pool of blood, and on his back were six colorful round sticks, and... A sword thrust deep in! Oh my god! The crossbow is dead! It's dead! He was the best of us, and he's dead! It was dead! Who killed him? Why did they kill him?! It... Die...... The...... A drop of salty, wet liquid ran across my face. Crossbow once said to me, no matter when, do not cry, only the worst cattle can cry. But I can't help it. I'm not the best cow.

People around them began to howl. I shivered, not in fear, but in anger. It was them, it must have been them, who killed My favorite friend, Crossbow. Murderers! You are murderers! Stand up! I want revenge!

A few men in silver began to sway around me, waving pink cloaks. Is you! You must be the killers. You killed Crossbow, and now you're trying to kill me. I'm gasping for air! I'll fight! I'll fight! I pounce on the pink, AND I'll prick you with my sharp horns.

As I swung this way and that, I threw myself at them and heard their thighs being torn by my horns, I began to feel happy.

The men in silver fled, and out came a man on horseback, dressed in blue, with a long stick in his hand. The horse's eyes were covered with black gauze, and I was cold. When I was on the farm, I liked the eyes of the mare named Salan best. I looked at the rider and didn't want to do anything. Perhaps he was as good as his horse. I looked up at him, not knowing what to do.

Suddenly, my back a sharp pain, the long thing, clearly with a barb spear, I was deceived. I was irritated again, and the people around me howled again. I rushed, my horns dug deep into the horse's belly as the pain made me forget Saran's beautiful eyes. I overturned the horse, and the horse attacked my owner, and I stepped on them. I was so happy to see the blue coat rolling on the ground. He's no longer a proud knight, he's just a deserter at my feet.

Another sharp pain in my back, I twisted my neck, another surprise attack, and they stuck two colorful sticks in my back, the kind I saw on the crossbow. They had sharp barbs that hung from my back, and every time THEY shook, they caused endless pain. I thought I was going to die.

All the people were clapping and they were Shouting happily. I tried to open my eyes and saw a red man, as beautiful as the sun setting on the farm every day. I think I fell in love with him the moment I saw him. He was handsome and young, and his pursed lips were a beautiful red, unlike those who were cold and cruel silver and gray.

Red, he strolled into the middle of the field, unfurling his red cloak, one of my favorite sunset colors, unblemished, bright red. As I slowly approached, he waved the red color of his hand at me, as if beckoning me.

I started to get excited, and I really fell in love with that young man, and his hands, no, his whole body red. I want the red. I rush to kiss the red cloak in his hand... Suddenly, something cold touched my skin. I could hear the sound of my body being cut by it. The cold reached to my heart. Don't... I looked up and saw the young man in red holding his hand up, and in his eyes I saw a silver sword piercing my back like the one on The crossbow. Is he... The killer?

It was the last sunset I would ever see in my life. Although the crossbow was not with me, I did see a different sunset in the outside world. It was different from the sunset on the farm.

short story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.