Earth logo

smiled. She was always grave and

smiled. She was always grave and

By YouTHPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

strict. She was so very good herself, I

thought, that the badness of other people made her frown all her life. I

felt so different from her, even making every allowance for the

differences between a child and a woman; I felt so poor, so trifling, and

so far off that I never could be unrestrained with her—no, could never

even love her as I wished. It made me very sorry to consider how good

she was and how unworthy of her I was, and I used ardently to hope that

I might have a better heart; and I talked it over very often with the dear

old doll, but I never loved my godmother as I ought to have loved her

and as I felt I must have loved her if I had been a better girl.

This made me, I dare say, more timid and retiring than I naturally

was and cast me upon Dolly as the only friend with whom I felt at ease.

But something happened when I was still quite a little thing that helped

it very much.

I had never heard my mama spoken of. I had never heard of my papa

either, but I felt more interested about my mama. I had never worn a

black frock, that I could recollect. I had never been shown my mama’s

grave. I had never been told where it was. Yet I had never been taught to

pray for any relation but my godmother. I had more than once

approached this subject of my thoughts with Mrs. Rachael, our only

servant, who took my light away when I was in bed (another very good

woman, but austere to me), and she had only said, Esther, good night!” ‟

and gone away and left me.

Although there were seven girls at the neighbouring school where I

was a day boarder, and although they called me little Esther Summerson,

I knew none of them at home. All of them were older than I, to be sure (I

was the youngest there by a good deal), but there seemed to be some

other separation between us besides that, and besides their being far

more clever than I was and knowing much more than I did. One of them

in the first week of my going to the school (I remember it very well)

invited me home to a little party, to my great joy. But my godmother

wrote a stiff letter declining for me, and I never went. I never went out at

all.

It was my birthday. There were holidays at school on other birthdays

—none on mine. There were rejoicings at home on other birthdays, as I

knew from what I heard the girls relate to one another—there were none

on mine. My birthday was the most melancholy day at home in the

whole year.

I have mentioned that unless my vanity should deceive me (as I know

it may, for I may be very vain without suspecting it, though indeed I

don’t), my comprehension is quickened when my affection is. My

disposition is very affectionate, and perhaps I might still feel such a

wound if such a wound could be received more than once with the

quickness of that birthday.

Dinner was over, and my godmother and I were sitting at the table

before the fire. The clock ticked, the fire clicked; not another sound had

been heard in the room or in the house for I don’t know how long. I

happened to look timidly up from my stitching, across the table at my

godmother, and I saw in her face, looking gloomily at me, It would have ‟

been far better, little Esther, that you had had no birthday, that you had

never been born!”

I broke out crying and sobbing, and I said, Oh, dear godmother, tell ‟

me, pray do tell me, did Mama die on my birthday?”

No,” she returned. Ask me no more, child!” ‟ ‟

‟Oh, do pray tell me something of her. Do now, at last, dear

godmother, if you please! What did I do to her? How did I lose her? Why

am I so different from other children, and why is it my fault, dear

godmother? No, no, no, don’t go away. Oh, speak to me!”

I was in a kind of fright beyond my grief, and I caught hold of her

dress and was kneeling to her. She had been saying all the while, Let me ‟

go!” But now she stood still.

Her darkened face had such power over me that it stopped me in the

Science
Like

About the Creator

YouTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

YouTH is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.