Earth logo

Ocean Eyes

Hello from the other side.

By Kara DanielsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Little Stirrup Cay, Bahamas

Have you ever seen a cuter pair of eyeballs peering back at you?

Honestly, I'm not sure who was more surprised by our encounter; this adorable little guy or me. We will call this cute little guy Phillip.

Sure, I know these beautiful conch shells are often occupied but I had never actually picked up one that had eyes popping out of it. At least not that I had ever been aware of or noticed upon picking one up in the past.

Although I have spent my fair share of time on beaches, hunting seashells never gets old. Ever since I was a child, I’d always make art in the sand with them or keep one as a reminder of my trip to the beach. It is even more fun when you hit the jackpot by finding a small conch shell that is inhabited by a Phillip. Especially when you are quick enough to capture that special moment of nature in its rawest form.

At times, it can be so easy to forget how many remarkable creatures live under those big blue waves. For as many different types as there are existing in those deep waters, it seems rarer than one would expect to have a run-in with one of these many underwater lives. As someone that decided to live on an island in the Caribbean for a period of time, there are so many sea inhabitants I still have never seen in my 29 years of life.

Encounters like this are so important to remind us who lives there. However, just as scary as it may be to get picked up as Phillip did, it’s even scarier trusting humans to properly return these guys to their home. But do fear not, Phillip was gently returned back into the clear blue waters of the Bahamas where he was residing before I abruptly scooped him up from his habitat as I continued my walk along the shoreline, sinking my toes into the sand as I walked further away from our magical encounter.

Phillip’s home was definitely on the smaller side of conch shells that I have found on my shell hunting adventures.

Phillip was the smallest…and this following one was probably the biggest.

îlet Pinel à Saint-Martin

Aside from the difference in size, there was an even “bigger” noticeable difference between this shell and Phillip’s…the reeking smell that came out of it. Unlike the much smaller conch shell, I found in the Bahamas that welcomed me with friendly eyes, this giant shell was noticeably no longer filled with life, only the leftover remains of one. Not only does it make for a less exciting encounter, but a horribly smelly one.

I never thought something could smell so badly…but whoever the previous tenant has really proved me wrong.

Aside from the unpleasant odor, this was easily one of the most beautiful shells I have held. I never realized just how heavy these shells could weigh until this one. These shells are absolutely miraculous. Personally, I think I’d be moving into one if I lived in the ocean and fit.

The best way to describe the weight is like holding a brick made from porcelain or glass, but incredibly tough.

Saint-Martin, FWI

I will be the first to admit, it can be very exciting to come across one of these ocean creatures. But I have witnessed some beachgoers and tourists that pluck these guys out of the ocean and show them to every other bystander that also wants photos and videos with them. Rightfully so.

From starfish, crabs, conch shells, and so on, it can all be very exciting.

Aside from the excitement and photo opportunities, it is vital to educate not only ourselves but also others around us that might not understand how to properly handle these little lives.

Thankfully, there is often a local around that offers their wisdom on how to properly handle and enjoy these magical creatures. And when in doubt, Google is always there to help advise us.

We must protect those who cannot always protect themselves so that we can enjoy them for a little while longer.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Kara Daniels

Another bio? No, thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.