Earth logo

No End to ideas !

Upcycle

By Elezabeth CameronPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Whip out your scissors and create!

It all starts with a pair of scissors, and in most cases, sometimes ends with a final snip.

Then comes an idea. Sometimes from being inspired by a photo, product or experience. I am the person who says, “I could make that...” then takes it to the the next level by figuring out not only how to make it, but uniquely mine. My home and walls are filled with my art!

Anger also plays into it. It started years ago using old mailers ... I was furious at them filling my mailbox ... and having to constantly throw them out. All that waste... into a landfill.

I love my die cutter and started by cutting designs out of the mailers. My first project was the ceiling of my travel trailer. Butterflies now adorn it.

Then I started cutting flower petals out of the mailers to make beautiful handpainted flowers. Making my own boxes, and creating books with uniquely designed covers. Taking my writing to the next level! Who wouldn’t want to write in a cute little journal.

But what to do with the flowers? They just built up in numbers ... I love making them... stored in a collection of plastic boxes. Flowers in all shapes and sizes.

Then there was all the good cardboard, that I tossed every week from small boxes, everyday things come in... like hot Cocoa or cereal... from grocery products to hand cream. Whipping out my scissors, I turned them inside out and cut them down. Finally manipulating huge boxes into the perfect size I need.

I used leftover tissue and other paper pieces to cover and decorate the finished boxes. Adding bits of string and mounting my flowers and other things complete the box ! Add a die cut or punched butterfly, or bug and suddenly a homeless flower became... it’s own art.

Living in Arizona ... it’s normal for me to sit out on the porch with my creations to dry in my natural Arizona Oven! Along with Whiskers the cat, and hummingbirds at the feeders.

One afternoon, waiting outside as the latest batch dried ... with my feet comfortably up I spied my hummers at the inside feeder. Sitting comfortably under my umbrella, as the hot sun slowly reached my feet. It was then I realized how hot the water the little birds drinking was. No wonder they all go to the second feeder,on the inside the porch during the midday. It also explained why they drain that inside feeder, while the exposed feeder is full. Well duh, who wants to drink hot water in 105 Arizona degree heat!

I was looking at my empty water bottle... gallon jug ... ummm... I whipped out my scissors from the ubiquitous porch basket, yet again! Cutting off the top following the curves I created a kind of umbrella shaped top and it left me a nice piece from the bottom too!

Looking at it I decided to paint the inside with acrylic paint and feed a hook... through here... and boom an umbrella cover for my Hummingbird feeders was created. I got carried away and made one for every feeder. All different colours, that work perfectly!

I also got a perfect bottom from the left over bottle for other things ! I grab my scissors again to cut some of bottoms the jugs down more, to use to store all sorts of items, in all sorts of places. From drawers to shelves to instant plant pots!

The top spout also creates a great large hole spout for whatever! I use one in the kitchen (not painted) to pour flour and sugar into containers! Or using a small water bottle spout, upside down in a planter for slow watering. The possibilities are as unlimited as your imagination !

By making a design on my computer,which I printed out. I label my containers sometimes! Pull out my scissors a little glue to add decorations and you forget it was a water bottle.

I use lots of gallon water bottles, which before this I just threw in recycle bin. Now I create mini bird feeder umbrellas and other containers to use , to give as a gifts, or sell at the local vendor market.

Not to mention how the mini umbrellas not only keep the water cooler, but it brightens up my porch with a splash of colour! I know the hummers love it!

I can currently upcycle 80% of the cardboard and water bottles I buy ! All I need is a pair of scissors and an off I go!

This has also led me to be more conscience when I buy items in containers that can be reused in art or recycled. My small piece of contribution to save the earth from pollution.

I look at glass bottles and their shape ... might pay a little more for a jam in a cuter jar that I can turn into some piece of art. Currently Oui jars are my passion!

I have so many Fisker scissors... all sizes... some with shapes and so many ideas just waiting! I also have other cutters, like my rotary ... don’t forget my Fiskars punches. Together they have changed my view and life... for the better! While I upcycle and give new life to what many otherwise consider garbage!

My art is not for everyone, yet anyone can make it! I find making art healing. The price of so many raw materials, is getting higher everyday ... especially clean cardboard. I could not afford to buy the amount of cardboard I use!

Art heals the planet too... and I can’t do it without Fiskers, a good glue and my constantly growing collection of reusable materials in everyday products we buy all the time.

Upcycling is Uplifting... what can you upcycle today? Have I inspired you to look at that box of cereal differently? Grab your scissors ... and on you mark, get set, cut!

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.