Earth logo

New Worlds

the world after the Apocalyse

By Lego senseiPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
I didn't thought this all would be like this.

“Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.

But, why do I hear the screams of my people suffering on the not-so-distant planet” , I thought to myself as the sweat drops from my trimmed Head onto the scorching grounds of my home Planet Venus, I am sitting on, slouching, out in the Farms.

Unable to remember when I last had a shower, a Distant lifeless look on my Face, with the expression my peers have never seen. I let out a Drained Sigh exhausted from my work in the fields, thinking when will things get better.

- Boom -

*Sound, which broke the Silence*

Curiously Confused about a Unprecedented Sound, I look around, trying to find which way that came from WHEN my Focus shift to Dense plumes of Black smoke billowing at a Distance along the valley of (small deserted mountains).

I don’t know what happened to me, I just jolted to that way as if something had called me to it, even I was surprised to see my (malnourished) legs running so fast.

As the source of the smoke came into view, I saw it is a Spaceship, crashed badly on Venus.

“A Spaceship, I ve seen some like this which brings Food sometimes, one with a Mars faction insignia on it.”

As I approach the ship, I see 2 lasers, which cut through the ship’s door.

A average sized Robotic cube jumps out of the ship, looks at me, comes to me and says “help. My master is Dead.” and faints/deactivates.

Suddenly, I hear rushed footsteps, “people are coming this way, I should get out of here.”

Without wasting another Second, I picked up the Talking robotic Cube and ran. Ran towards my robot friend’s rundown tool shop.

-

2 years later- Mars

I walk on a bustling street, I see well-fed dressed people, well oiled shiny robot people, bulky furry people all around me, while adjusting the hood on my head trying to stay anonymous.

“ So this is Crimsonious, capital city of Mars.” I say upon the sound of Flying vehicles, music holographic sign boards and Bright neon lights coming into view.

This city looks so Promising from the surface, dazzling enough to fool a simpleton to chase after this Dream City.

I continue to walk briskly, face down and my thoughts of determination is broken by a crying voice of a baby somewhere.

I look ahead and see a cat woman carrying her baby, she seemed busy with something in her other hand to care for her kid.

“We don’t have time for this” Damien nags,

“You sure talk a lot for a flying cube” I scoffed while ignoring it, and went up to them and try to tell the woman to look after her kid.

She looked as if in Trance, with a small mirror in her Hand and not able to hear anyone in that state, so much that she didn’t even notice when I played with her kid a little and moved along.

“that was strange. Why was she so hypnotized with a mirror, Damien?” curiously I asked.

“that was a smartphone and she was making a video of herself.” Damien answered as he pulled my hand, hurrying me to meet the best friend of his ex-owner.

-

Year 2080, Humanity resides on Moon, Mars and Venus after the World War III, happened in 2030 which Destroyed the Earth. Luckily, survivors manage to get to safety in time.

It was Thankful to be Safe, even though it was Harsh being on Venus, because any special facilities weren’t built counter the Planet’s atmosphere.

I Heard it was justifiable as all the people with a Criminal record from Earth were sent to Venus.

Similarly, Good Samaritans were given Mars, with favorable environment and well built ecosystems and I heard all the Important People resides on Moon.

No one has ever seen the Moon Base

It’s everything I heard from my grandfather’s stories who used to live on Earth.

He told me how much the technology had progressed that the Robot Family who lives next door and the Furry species family who lives around the corner weren’t considered equal to Humans, how technology helped them evolve so much as to have equal footing as everyone else. How good humans were to help them evolve and now how we all live in harmony on 3 different planets.

He would always tell these happy ending stories, but sometimes, when I would ask how did earth got destroyed, he would go silent as if trying to remember something, then always say, “my memory isn’t good as it used to be, I don’t remember.”.

Things would go quiet after that, but every time I couldn’t help myself but wonder that grim look on his face, after asking the same question the next time.

-

I haven’t run this fast in a while, as this thought came to my mind, a soft Smile tried to escape and hurt my chapped lips. Doing something out of the ordinary was filling me with Adrenaline and I giggled thinking how I ll learn my lesson at night for running.

As I reached to my friend’s place, I yelled out his name, barely able to hold back my excitement. Zack comes out, “what’s with you? Don’t you get tired of being excited all the time?”

“look what I found. A spaceship crashed earlier, this was the Pet Robot of the people who died in that crash.” I said with a glint of Curiosity in my eyes.

Zack takes that pet from my hands and bring it inside the workshop saying, “normal people get sad when someone dies, not steal their pet and act cheerful about it. Anyways, let’s have a look at it, looks broken.”

Zack put it on the Table and starts working on it, and I, being not able to calm down, keep pestering him, until he yells and tell me to go away for while.

-

I thought maybe I should take one more look on the spaceship, I could find something more so, I re-tracked my steps back to that valley and as I pass people on the way, I heard that some people pillaged the ship and brought the things, they found, back to their Home. On reaching the valley, I see a big Spaceship with Blue and red light flashing on it and a lot of people in spacesuits looking around the crashed ship. I hide behind a big rock and sneak,

I see them getting a person out of the space car, he looks badly hurt, not moving and I get surprised to see how they shrink him into size of a eggplant and then leave the planet.

I had seen a lot of new things in one day, don’t know when my brain stopped processing things, and I was like, “ guess his master wasn’t dead then. Let’s head back to the shop”

“ ZAAAACK, ARE YOU DONE YET?” I yelled standing outside the shop.

“ Yeah, you’re right on time, I just finished. You have no idea what you have found.” looked a little frightened as he told me the robot I had found is a special kind of robot Pet that is quite common on Mars, it can shape shift into any animal you want and it’s an obedient A.I. and I remembered I had seen one of these with the people who bring rations every month, and they use it as a Guard Dog.

I take the cube and click to revive it and suddenly a holographic screen pops up, written on it- SOS

Me and Zack a look at each other and press the play button…

-

Hearing that, I was shocked to my core, I wasn’t used to this many rush of emotions before,

I am GUILTY, I am also Relieved, ANGER at Injustice, Melancholy of Reality.

I couldn’t stand, my legs were giving out, the truth that shattered my reality, made me question my sanity.

I took out the pocket knife and cut myself to keep myself from going Insane.

“I gotta think quick. Nothing’s gonna get solved by me feeling sorry for myself.

“This isn’t Right. This IS NOT how we’re supposed to LIVE”

I grit my teeth as I stood up, the Epiphany ran chill down my spine, I got goosebumps even under the punishing rays of SUN.

“I gotta DO something about this.” as I clenched my fist with a Determined look on my face.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lego sensei

A on a Journey to become a NOVELIST, who got blessed with a lot of free time during covid-19 lockdown.

"a Sarcastic Jerk trying to become a Novelist? that's interesting"- my friend's comment on me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.