Earth logo

New Worlds challenge

A story story

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
8
New Worlds challenge
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

"Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say." I hate to break it to everyone reading this, but that fact is most certainly wrong. Let me explain. Very few people can say they've been to space, I happen to be one of those people who can say that. My name is Reed, I'm here to share my story. I hope this doesn't deter you from space, but I need to share my first hand experience in space. This story takes place about 6 months ago when I got a call from an old friend.

"Victor, it's good to see you! I'm honored you've chosen me to lead this expedition." I say while giving him a hug. "It's been too long, buddy" Victor says smiling. "I wanted to deliver your keys personally. When you're ready you can go upstairs and get acclimated. We leave tomorrow morning." Victor and I have been friends for years. We grew up together, always rivals but always in the best ways. We would always push each other every single day. However as I furthered my education, Victor maximized his businesses. He became a billionaire in felt like no time. So here we are in the lobby of his skyscraper. Victor has purchased his own space shuttle and wants to go exploring. Despite not having actually seen each other in years, about a year prior he called me and told me about his dream and how there's no one he'd trust more to be the brains behind this trip and make sure everyone else came back home safe than me. I was allowed to select 3 more people to help, with Victor's approval of course. But, once I told him who our help was he was on board without a second-thought.

I chose: best-friend Ben, the love of my life Sue, and her brother Johnny. I'm grateful they allowed me to pick my team, there's no one else I'd rather have for this trip.

"Hey Einstein!" I hear someone yell behind me. I turn around to see Ben in the lobby, he walks up to give me a hug. "You know I'm still scared shitless, I'm trusting you with my life here Reed." "Ben, nothing is going to happen to you. I promise you. I've spent hundreds of man hours working on my own and with countless other scientist to make sure we come back home in one piece. Everything's going to be okay" I reassure him.

The following day everything goes off without a hitch. This feeling of weightlessness is like no other. I wish others could experience it at least once in their lives. The view of space and the great unknown with your own two eyes is indescribable. Once we're free to roam the craft freely, Sue and I head away to have some personal time. Looking out the window together and holding each others hands, I turn to her and say "You look absolutely stellar Sue, you are without question the brightest star out here. I wouldn't trade this for the world." Smooth I know, Sue smirked at me and didn't say anything. Just shook her head smiling. Everything was so tranquil, sadly that peace only lasted a few minutes.

Out of nowhere I heard alarms blaring, Victor instructed us to get back to the cockpit. Some unforeseen energy field and radiation come at us fast and we needed to leave the area asap. Unfortunately as soon as we all returned to our seats that's when whatever came for us hit us and we were flooded with an incredible amount of radiation. The control console exploded electrocuting Victor unconscious, my skin felt like it was being ripped apart, Sue has blacked out, Ben was frozen in stone unable to react at all in his seat, but worst of all I heard Johnny screaming in pain shouting over and over again that he's burning alive. I want to help but there's nothing I can do.

I have no idea how we were able to make it back to Earth safely. Victor must have programed the ship with some sort of emergency autopilot or something, because I was in too much pain to help navigate the ship back to Earth. I don't really remember much, I passed out from the pain after a while and woke up to all of us in quarantine.

I honestly don't know how we're not dead. The insane amount of radiation we absorbed should have killed us immediately. Don't get me wrong I'm grateful we're all alive but we're all suffering with some pretty intense symptoms. Johnny is experiencing flu like symptoms with flares of an extremely high core temperature, Sue is having problems with her vision and experiencing crippling migraines, Ben is having problems simply moving complaining of arthritic feelings, and Victor has 3rd degree burns all over his body and has permanent nerve damage.

However I oddly feel great, physically that is. I've never felt younger and even my mind feels a lot more clear, somehow. Which really is the worst part of it all, I get off completely unscathed while everyone else is suffering. I can't help but blame myself. I don't know what went wrong. I have to get well so I can get back to the lab and figure out exactly what went wrong after our quarantine is finished. Who knows what the long lasting effects on us will be.

I turn to look through the window into Johnny's room, Johnny's resting but clearly still uncomfortable. "I promise Johnny, I'll spend the rest of my life trying to make it up to you and the rest of the team." I say to him even though he can't hear me. That was the day I learned, yes you can most certainly be heard screaming in the vacuum of space. Johnny's screams will be burned into my brain and my ears for the rest of my life. I'm sorry, Johnny.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

short story
8

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Omg this was such a gripping story! I really loved it. I have to know what radiation was that, where did it come from and what are the long term effects of it. Loved this fantastic story!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Good story. Well done.

  • Michele Jones2 years ago

    This is a great start and could turn into a full novel with many twists and turns. I think you should continue.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.