Earth logo

Nature is My Canvas

How Gardening Keeps Me Grounded

By Glenda BeechamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Nature is My Canvas
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Imagine taking something smaller than your fingernail, planting it in soil, watering it, and watching as the first signs of a tiny green shoot break the surface. You watch it grow almost indiscernibly each day. One day you realize the tiny seed you planted has turned into a 6-foot sunflower. It’s awe-inspiring to see the growth of a plant and support it to reach its full potential. Of course, you can never own a plant; they belong to the birds and bees and the sun. But you can nurture it and tend it and enjoy the beauty that it creates.

When you see the first blooms of a flower, the first fruits on a plant, it’s a feeling of pure joy. Seeing something you’ve cultivated and tended to spring to life is one of the most satisfying experiences.

Through all the ups and downs in my life, gardening helps me stay grounded and calm. There is something mesmerizing about being outside, with the sun on your back and a breeze on your neck, while you cultivate the nature around you. It’s a little taste of paradise.

I’ve always found that deadlines seem less urgent when I step outside. It is easy for me to get stuck in my head. While I’m at the office or doing chores, I can sometimes forget the world that exists around me. Gardening takes me out of that mindset and reminds me of what’s really important in life. Not making money or keeping busy, but simply taking care of myself and taking care of the planet we all depend on.

I take great joy in seeing my garden leisurely reveal itself - constantly changing and delighting me. My garden changes from day to day – flowers bloom, they die – it never looks the same from one day to the next. I have to appreciate how it is at that moment. I really take it all in; the brightness of the new buds, the dew on the apple tree, and a ladybug sitting on the dill. When I really stop to appreciate the moment, all my worries seem to just melt away.

When tending to my plants, I’m forced to slow down. There is no instant gratification from gardening. It takes months of devotion, watering and, weeding before I may see results. It could be months more before I see any blooms, vegetables, or fruits I can harvest. Patience is essential and, there are no guarantees in gardening. If my favorite bulb doesn’t come up, I have to let it go. With gardening, I’ve learned to enjoy whatever the season brings. I know that even if things don’t go as planned, something beautiful can still come of it.

In the winter, while most of the world rests, I can plan. I have something to look forward to. I can think about the colors, heights, and textures of the flowers in my garden. It’s as if, in some small way, nature is my very own canvas. I can imagine the smell of a tomato plant and the sweet burst of flavor after popping one in my mouth after picking it fresh off the plant.

In a world where so much is intangible, where we live virtual lives and rarely make anything, gardening is a refuge. It’s an escape from the modern world and from the fast-paced lives, we’re all used to living. It’s a chance to breathe, hear the birds call, and feel the grass between your toes. It’s a chance to connect with something bigger than yourself. And what could be more rewarding than that?

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Glenda Beecham

Author from the West Coast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.