Earth logo

My Pledge to Mother Earth

My Pledge to Mother Earth

By bhup raj. kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Pledge to Mother Earth
Photo by Boxed Water Is Better on Unsplash

On this World Day, 2021, I picked up tons of everything I could have done differently in my life. I know that with change it is better to seek small steps. so the next thing I promise to be different, I don’t promise to fix it overnight ... but I know I can make this change, and that I promise to try it out in the next five years (maybe soon!).

My Promise to Mother Earth

I promise to try to do better on our beautiful planet, at the level of my health and therefore the quality of life around me. I promise to try this on ...

* Reduce my rainfall to 10 minutes (as opposed to 30-40); I can make a playlist and play my iPad music so I know my bath time is over

* Unplugged electronic devices for use - phone chargers, laptop chargers, lamps, etc.

* I still use reusable shopping bags, but I also pack one in my bag for an unusual shopping trip I take (I should not invite plastic bags)

* Buy as many items in the Barn as much as possible - spices, flour, etc. - to complete the acceptance of our pots

* Buy meat and fruit / vegetables locally, from the farmers themselves (if possible)

* Other household items including potential chemicals (dish soap, detergent, detergent, etc.) by non-chemical methods or other natural methods

* Offer and sell items I don't use (and probably never will)

* Teaching others as I continue this journey

There is so much I want to research and analyze, but I promise I will always be able to learn, always strive to make changes and improve.

Quick Action

One of my favorite questions as Life Coach says "What is one step you will take today (or this week) to achieve your goal?" ... I was ready to come up with the next two steps. (This does not mean that I will be able to take ALL the steps in a week, but I may wish to plan ahead, so that I can think.)

New rain ...

1.Create a playlist

2. Start today - this is usually easy (for me); I have done it before and I know I can do that as part of my process

Unlocking electronics ...

1. Consultation (which may involve walking around the apartment) 5 connected items should not be present

2. Every morning after the boyfriend is gone, take these 5

With reusable bags ...

1. Rebuild my wallet (because part of the story I don't want to put anything in; it's too full)

2. Fold my reusable bag and find a place in my bag

Bulk shopping ...

1. Ask my boyfriend what you will buy at Bulk Barn (maybe you can also visit, just wander around and make a list)

2. go to the dollar store for any containers we still need

By buying fruits, vegetables, and meat ...

1. Research what is available in your area, in relation to farmers

2. Compare store prices

With non-chemical products

1. Find out what one label should look for, and which products are the best and most available in Canada

2. Change one product to start (perhaps food soap)

With donations and sales ...

1. Take care of my clothes - break up into a bunch of storage, sales, donations, and potential waste disposal

2. Try selling my clothes (Poshmark)

By teaching others ...

1. Keep writing essays as I learn more

2. Ask my family and friends about what I'm learning - especially my mom and boyfriend

So, in short, what do I do TODAY?

I took it well and straightforwardly, I made a shower list this morning so I could use one this afternoon for my first 2021 shower.

Next, I walk around the apartment looking for some plugs that shouldn't be ALL the time. I know two of them in my office, and I think a lot more, but I’m excited to find out what else I can find (like a treasure hunt!).

Finally, I rearrange my wallet - remove all receipts and tic tac containers and whatever I find when I have no intention of being there - and end up with my new wallet to use with me, in case we leave shopping alone.

These actions may seem small and straightforward, but I know over time (and as I add small and simple actions to my life) this can have a big impact.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.