Earth logo

My Monthly Way To Give Back

Recycle, Re-Use, Re-Duce And Donate

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Monthly Way To Give Back
Photo by Zane Persaud on Unsplash

Always having great compassions for the Wildlife, I signed up to be a member of the Wildlife Collections Society. Two months ago I started out with a purchase of three bracelets with Polar Bears on them. Each has a tracker. We adopt and between myself and our grandchildren, using our computers we can track where our Polar Bear is and knowing how they are doing.

This month I let my grandson check to see what the next wildlife animal we would choose. Of course, he loves Turtles, and soon we will have our trackers and keeping an eye on how our newest family member is doing.

It is amazing the knowledge and research we have found out about the wildlife. The effects the pollution has on our oceans and seas. The sad impact it has on whales, turtles, and polar bears. Next month we will be working on the whales but we take one Wildlife animal at a time and learn as much as we can. It is also a great opportunity to learn together and for our future to teach the young to understand what they can do. Making mother earth cleaner and showing the impact on what we can do to help in every way we can.

By Vladimir Proskurovskiy on Unsplash

Recycle And Craft

I have a passion for many different types of crafts. All of the leftovers are used to recycle and create new and interesting crafts and gifts.

Save your greeting cards, you can use the verses or different things from them to make new cards, gift tags, and even wonderful bookmarks.

Save your ribbon, from gift decorating or things in your hair, there are so many really fun things you can do with the leftovers.

One of my favorites is plastic bags. This was taught to me by my neighbor when she visited Cuba. By cutting the plastic into long strips of three, adding more for length. Macrame them and eventually, you can make some really nice women handbags.

Beads, just like buttons. String them together and you can make amazing jewelry or even bead your hair. Another thing with lots of leftovers they look fantastic if you scrapbook.

There is always something you can do with things you have left. Become creative or donate them to places that can use them.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Green Land Is Disappearing

After numerous petitions being signed, several meetings with our municipalities, our greenlands, homes for the wildlife and our nature trails, all destroyed and cleared. Developer after developer come in to clear out the beauty of earth, trees that bring us oxygen. To build and build both houses and working developments. I wish for every new home or business building , several trees are grown, it’s so sad to see the trees that have grown for years destroyed, the deers running into the city not knowing where to go. Even worst the coyotes running wild and hungry.

Farms are now being bought out for this very reason. Research after research we keep trying to find a way to make it stop.

Several golf courses have also been closed.

By Mike Erskine on Unsplash

My Footprints Will Be Large

Before I leave our planet earth my legacy to myself and to my family and so on , is to find every way I can to make our planet healthier. Pollution cleaned up. Trees planted, water healthy for people to drink or wash.

I vow to teach young or old how we can work as a team or on our own to make a difference,no matter what it takes.

There is no reason to be concerned about other planets, while our planet needs help and needs it really badly.

Reduce, reuse, recycle and donate your time or a small amount, is my way to make a large footprint for others to follow.

By Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Our planet from land and sea, needs our help from both you and me. For every woman child or man. We can come together and make a stand.

Indoors I have started to plant seeds, clearing our property of unsightly weeds.

I have seen our planet earth so green and blue. Now I have a list of all the things I am going to do.

Leaving a planet healthy and clean. Oxygen from trees, pollution disappear and our land free.

I pledge to you and all of the Vocalmedia team.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Advocacy
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.