Earth logo

Life on the Moshav

I have been living in the Moshav for the past week.

By sara burdickPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
4
Farm Donnkeys

Ok, first of all. I know.

What is a Moshav?

Great question; I had to google to properly define ¨a unique type of cooperative farmers’ village invented in Israel in the early 20th century¨.

In my words, it is similar to a small town but more integrated into contributing to a community while still having your own house and space.

So what am I doing, and why am I here?

I am volunteering.

I came because no matter the country, I’m not too fond of the tourist area, as I feel I never learn about a country when I am a tourist. Here on, the farm, as we call it, is full of Israelis from the area or other parts of Israel.

Most are well-traveled, and when they return from their travels, they are unsure what to do, and it is the perfect place to try out a new hobby or business venture.

Naturally, all are closely related to nature, spirituality, and wanting to create a better future for themselves and those around them.

As well as foreigners, me, a guy from Iran, and even a Colombian. So I am getting a chance to practice and keep up my Spanish skills which makes me happy.

Outdoor kitchen

Do I like it here?

I love it; shocking, I know. However, it takes work. The sun is scorching, and my entire body is sore from an aerial yoga class the other day and physical garden work, as well as I helped build a fence yesterday.

I am constantly covering my body with sunscreen, a hat, and whatever I can shield myself. Yet I am accomplishing something and contributing to something bigger.

As well as getting ideas for my farm and learning what I need vs. what I want vs. what I can do without. Also, while I am on the ¨find a home¨ journey, I now know for sure what parts of the world I would never live in, and I am getting more specific on climate, what is vital in my life, and getting clarity on so much.

Plus, learning about inventions that I have never heard of.

Here they have something called biogas. It is a hot compost that breaks into cooking gas; I have never seen or heard of it and am slightly obsessed with finding it on the other side of the world. I am sure I can find it, but I just found out it existed.

Biogas compost

Secondly, the open community feels and attracting those who are like-minded first requires a lot of work and space. The flexibility the owner gives his employees and volunteers is fantastic.

He has the vision and knows what he wants but trusts they will figure out how to get there — collaboration, which I think is essential to happiness and creativity.

I had a mini project to clear up the garden space yesterday. I spent the second half of the day trimming trees and removing fences and posts.

Today I helped in the kitchen to prepare food for a performance later tonight.

Getting to be around people with similar attitudes and values was precisely what I needed to ground myself. Realizing I am not floating on my space rocket, alone in outer space.

There are others out there like me.

As well as interacting with the community and locals who live and are from here. A different type of interaction and connection. The more in tune, I am with myself, the more it shows up in my outer world.

I am always amazed at how deeply connected we are to mother nature and what is inside will reflect in our external world. I have mentioned this in almost every post because I am constantly amazed.

I am on my afternoon break; I may take a siesta or continue writing more. Maybe download and listen to a book.

Life here in Israel is not slow-paced, but life on the Moshav is more relaxed. I can hear the birds sing, see the moon come out at night, and even see the stars shining in the sky.

We will pick vegetables from the garden to eat and dry lavender to make soap.

Life is imperfect, but you can always create your own way if you get out of your own way.

XOXO

S

Humanity
4

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.