Earth logo

Life as we know it

Protecting oceans- protecting life

By Silver Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Life as we know it
Photo by Li-An Lim on Unsplash

All people on Earth are responsible for looking after nature, taking care of it, and keeping it thriving. We only currently borrow what is now from the future generations, our children, our grandchildren etc. So why do we treat it with little respect- would we treat our children or grandchildren like this? Or would we treat our home with such disrespect? No, then why do people treat the planet in such a way?

When I was younger, I would spend my summers at the sea, splashing around and pretending to be a mermaid. Those summer memories stayed with me throughout my life, but so did the images of all the rubbish left behind on the beaches by people

As I got older, I became more careful with picking up rubbish and carrying a bag with me to pick up other people's rubbish, whether at the beach or walking in the countryside. It's easy to say, leave that rubbish, you didn't drop it- but this is quite a ignorant statement, while I may not have dropped that rubbish, I live on this planet and care for it just as others should, so bending down to pick up a piece of litter isn't going to take too much effort.

It's easy for people to look away and wait for others to make a change or the government, but that kind of perspective isn't going to help in the here and now. If everyone helped just a little bit more each day, the planet would benefit in the present and the future- meaning your kids and grandkids won't be cleaning up your mess.

Did you know, the ocean is responisble for around 50-80% of the oxygen production on Earth. In addition, the ocean absorbs quite a bit of CO2 from the atmosphere, meaning without it, we would be screwed.

Given humans are responible for the high amount of CO2 and nature from trees to the ocean help correct our mistakes, we should be helping it by reducing our carbon footprint to take off some of the pressure, it's our fault after all. This can be acheived in different ways, for me personally, this is how I plan to help reduce my own carbon footprint.

No longer eating fish!

After watching SeaSpiracy on Netflix, I saw the impact that the fishing industry was having on our environment and the ocean life. I learned that even if a tin of tuna say's 'Dolphin Safe', it's highly possibly it's not. This was a real shocker and I also learned that fishing industry is responsible for harming our oceans in so many ways. As a result, I will no longer be eating fish.

Single Waste Plastic

Where possible, I try to avoid the amount of single waste plastic I use such as straws, coffee cups with lids, utensils etc. This was such an easy change to make and if I do buy an express coffee from the gas station, I won't bin it and try to reuse the cup.

By tanvi sharma on Unsplash

Eco Friendly Cars

Whenever I make a purchase for a new vehicle, I will look to make sure it has no road tax or very low road tax, this way I know it's eco-friendly.

Recycle and Upcycle

I've tried reducing the amount of plastic I buy but it's very difficult to do full shops this way and expensive. If I do use plastic I make sure it's recycled and where possible, I'll try to upcycle it as I rather like arts and crafts so I look at ways of how I can incorporate rubbish into it.

Reduce Flying

There’s a good reason why flights take the brunt of environmentalists’ ire. They can account for a huge proportion of your annual carbon footprint. If you enjoy travelling, get camping and explore your local environment and the beauty that is there. It can help you understand changes closer to home.

Go vegan (or at least flexitarian)

If you're not interested in going vegan or vegetarian, at least reduce the amount of meat you eat. The Lancet medical journal published a study that called on Europeans to reduce their red meat consumption by 77 per cent in order to avoid “catastrophic damage to the planet”. Good news then that the number of vegans in the UK quadrupled between 2014 and 2018 to 600,000, with another seven per cent of the population aiming to become vegan this year.

By Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

Whatever your plan is to reduce your own carbon footprint, the first step is to acknowledge there is a issue, the second step is to make a plan of how you can help. It may be little steps at first and you may believe you're not making a difference at all, but you are by changing and breaking old habits. Then you can go to bed at night knowing you're making the world a slightly better place in your own way and your children and grandchildren will be grateful for the little changes you make that benefit their future.



Climate
1

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.