Earth logo

Into the Deep

Altavia

By Daante BowmanPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
1
Into the Deep
Photo by Aldebaran S on Unsplash

"Nobody can here a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. My Gam would tell me stories about a time of peace and harmony. A time were all of Altavia was united. There was no great divide. Wizards and Elves worked together. Fairy and Mages. Witches and Mermaids. Every creature imaginable lived and worked together fighting against the certain evil beyond the Altavian Borders. They called it "The Deep" words used to describe a place that lures you in and the deeper you go the lesser of a chance you have of coming out. It was forbidden to go out there unless apart of The AF. The Altavian Forces a group of elite soldiers trained to master their on abilities. Only the few among the citizens of Altavia make it. A highly skilled challenge based off magic, power and skill. Determining whether or not a person and their unique abilities can be used for the greater good. This was the first year I would be able to attend and although it didn't quite turn out how i expected the alternative was far greater. This is my story."

1 year ago

Prologue ( Into the deep)

I worked in the market with my mom and gam. My Dad served in the elvin army a seperate but respected group to the Altavian army. People would tell me that my dad was a hero and that he was the best of the best. I never got to meet him. He was lost in the deep on a mission to rescue some fallen soldiers before i was born. Even though I didn't get to meet him, I miss him. In a strange way a part of me feels like he's still out there just waiting for me to find him. My mom is a Mage, Her name is priscila. She is beautiful and one of the strongest mages i know, she used to be in the army as well but gave it all up to raise me. Dad and her were like a bad ass super team. Sadly the magic skipped me for some reason I came out ordinary. No special powers of abilities. I was normal a human. In Altavia humans weren't allowed I was the only one of my kind. I felt broken lost and confused. Why was I here I would think. Time and time again the people around me just pushed me to the side. Showing off their powers and uniqueness when I was just there passing through because I was the son of the two most powerful people in altavia with nothing to show for it. I stayed to myself mostly, I coudln't play any of the flying games of combat trainings I would end up hurt or dead. So i just watched. I had a few friends. Only two. Larcogan, A male fairy we call Larco and a mermaid, Alice. I don't really know why they are my friends I think they feel bad for me and are kind of left out too. So we help each other. Larco is the only child of falcones a family of fairies Who are mostly female while his dad was a wizard. He often got picked on for being a fairy his wings dazzling with glimmer as he floated. The other guys thought of him weak but he wasn't. At least I didn't think so he could do undescribable things but he didn't believe he was unique he thought he was destined to be weird. Made by mistake. In which I could relate because thats exactly how i felt. Like a misfit toy in a land of things that fit. Then there was Alyce a beautiful girl with long black hair and olive skin on land she was a human just like me but in or around water she was this powerful mermaid. While hanging with us she would always carry water just in case she needed it to defend herself. She wore a water jewel around her neck in case of emergencies. She said her mother gave it to her so that if she ever needed to return home the magic forced in it will get her their. She didn't know what that meant but was told never to take it off. She wasn't really picked on and when she was it was only because she hung out with us. She had her doubts about her skin while most mermaids had white skin and long blonde or red hair she had curly black hair that made her unique. Also her black skin made her peircing blue eyes pop out. So there we were the 3 of us. We had no idea what was coming.

"We have to get ready for the choosing!" Alyce said "I heard this year was going to be even more dangerous than the last"

"They can't actually harm us can they?!" Larco said nervously

"It's Altavian council they can do whatever they want, Last year remember that wolve who didn't make it out of that silver cage yeah have you noticed him around lately" Alyce whispered.

"Guys, It's okay you are both going to be great! I will be cheering for you every step of the way"

They both looked at me reassured as we waited in line for the choosing of this years challengers. Each year some are chosen to go and then there are a few selects who are giving the oppurtinity to compete for a spot on the Altavian forces. A huge honor. I knew I would never know what that would feel like so i just kept my head low as every creature around me awaited their destinys as I slowly doubted my existence.

Out of the golden doors walked Elikan the eldest member of the Altavian Council said to be immortal. He was the strongest wizard in the land and the only living survivor to ever escape the deep. As he walked he scoped the room his peircing green eyes looking through all of us in attendence.

"welcome to the this years Choosing....I am Elikan and I am excited to watch this years class surpass the last and become the new Altavian force serving and protecting our walls...We have our selecties who have shown promise through trainings all ready to go... Norias read the names"

"Lizzie from the house of fairy, Otto from the cave of the wolves, Jeromes vampire king, Alyce lady of water, Cassandra from the house of mage and Harris of the coven of smoke"

Everyone began to clap as those who were called stood up and walked to their positions. Larco and I watched as Alyce stepped into greatness. She was ready and we knew it. Her destiny was about to begin and then soon it would be just us. We were proud but also sad that she would be going where we could not go. which was up out of here stuck helpless and afraid of whats out there. Next was the selects the one who were chosen not becaus eof their skill but to throw in a curve ball just in case they too had what it takes to change the odds. Elikan stood.

"Next we have the selects, Now these few are not chosen by skill but by oppurtunity. To show us who they are and what they are capable of."

Elikan looked at the list and whispereed to Norias.

"Well it seems we only have one select this year, one person who hasn't been given the oppurtunity to show us who they are and what they can do, a person who hasn't been able to but will soon find what they are looking for or that they don't belong"

As he said those words don't belong I instantly felt sick to my stomach. I didn't belong in altavia they would never accept me. I had to leave. It was time to go into the deep. I was leaving.

"This years select is Larcogan from the house of Fairy"

The crowd erupted in disbelief as if he had read the wrong name. Even Larco was frozen he too couldn't believe it. He slowly stood up and looked at me terrified. I was stunned and a little hurt but glad he was finally about to see be able to show them his true potential. My two friends were leaving and I had only one option to make. It was final I was going to the deep and it had to be tonight!

"Quiet down! Larcogan please come forward!"

Larco walked slowly standing beside Alyce as they both knew he wasn't ready. She held his hand until he became out of reach on his way to Elikan.

"Are you ready for this boy?"

Larco paused and looked at Alyce and then me. He looked all around the room then back at Elikan. As he looked at Elikan he said Yes and his wings started to glow. His eyes beamed a light and he stepped back trying to figure out what had just happened. He felt powerful and ready for anything.

"I'm ready and I'm going to show all of you i'm not a weak"

The crowd cheered and started chanting Larco's name even the chosen started to clap. Alyce was crying looking around for me I had to go so I slowly started walking backwards. I needed to get out and slip away so no one will see me leave. I was happy for them but sonething in me wanted something too! I didn't belong I had to leave it all behind and find my own destiny.

I got back home to my mom and gam. They were sitting aroudn the table having dinner. i had told them earlier I would be home late. I watched as they looked peaceful and happy knowing that i was a burden. I wanted to say by but I just couldn't bring myself to say it. I slipped in through my window grabbe my bag, a knife and my notebook that father had given to me as a gift before he left on his quest. I wrote a letter to them letting them know I would be okay and that I loved them but i had to find myself and figure out what i'm here for.

{Dear Gam and Mom,

I have to leave for awhile I will be back. I am sorry for leaving with out saying good bye but if i did i know you would have stopped me. I have to figure out my own destiny , my own path I feel like I can find dad in the deep. So i'm going to look for him and figure out what happened to him. Figure out what's out there. I'm sorry I will be back soon promise.

Love Elias }

I hid the letter where it would be found eventually and I was off. Leaving behind everything I knew for something I knew nothing about. I snuck around to the other side of the camp I rememebr in the training fields their was an opening that was rarely guarded because noone actively wants to go into the deep. So i waited for patrol to leave it unattended and snuck right through undecteted and there i was the wall behind me. I stopped wondering if i could really do this. Could I survive the deep? I looked at altavia, it was my home and I instantly got the feeling it woud never be the same after this. The forrest looked even deadlier up close. The trees dead and the black fog that hovered over it just made then look 10 times bigger. I took a deep breathe and walked in. I was in the deep everything was about to change.

Chapter 1 ( It wasn't what I expected)

I had been walking for what seemed to be hours. There was no sunlight I left during the dark so no-one would see me. I didn't think though because I couldn't see anything. I clinged to my knife scared if what would jump out and attack me. As i walked though i didn't get the feeling i was in eminate danger. I was just alone in the dark wondering in the woods. After a while I started to get tired so I made a fire and camped. Night one was a success would would continue in the morning.

{In my dream I was in a room chained all i could see were my hands and feet. All around i felt rock and dust. I looked up and saw an opening of light to the outside world around me. I was locked underground. As i turned around to be let out a man I didn't know popped out of nowhere yelling at me to leave. "LEAVE..GO BACK...LEAVE."

And then i woke.

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.