Earth logo

Inspired Minds

Written by Maha Rett

By Maha RettPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Inspired Minds
Photo by Sonder Quest on Unsplash

An Elder once told me, in order to care for my mental health I need to start from the ground up with a footpath. Listening to what they had to say impacted my life for the better. I thank them for their generosity through sharing their advice. Perspective changing inspiration from a wise mind must not go wasted. Thus, this new years resolution in honor of our conversation.

These days I kick my feet up for peace of mind. Instead of berating my body for her shortcomings, I will write her thank you notes for everything she gives me. Embellished cards and all. I will fill my letters with poetry and write her songs so she can hear my truth in all reality. Words are only English, so I play my guitar like heart strings. She knows I am learning her language and we can move forward together.

Notice the importance of relaxing our bodies from the root. Reconnecting ourselves with Earth is essential to our well being, especially while we have an opportunity to recover our planet for the next generation. Mighty time we came up with better material. So she grows. Come spring, I hope to plant my feet in the soil while I garden until the sun sets. This year I appreciate my roots who raised me, and thank them by making my path.

The distance I have traveled shows in my walk, carrying my lifestyle. Although there comes a time where we must pause for gratitude. Without our Earth, we would have no where to land. Gravity holds me in space so I do not fly away from the revolution. Spinning through the years, this on feels different. Change has arrived, our climate resonates with a yearning to make life through all this concrete. She is ready to provide us with enough medicine to fill a cabinet. We have learned what will fall us ill and which herbs to consume to aid our minor wounds. When we ask we may receive.. have we been asking the right questions to the right people? When I do everything I can to defend our wild planet, I feel grounded. She is here and as am I, lets dance until we drop.

My loveseat will serve me well this season while I rest my legs on the arm and warm up to a good book. My knees don’t mind and neither do my hips. The hips… sway to folk music while I brew chamomile tea.

Apparently, more nerve endings exist in our small intestine than in our whole spine, so I listen to my gut. When she rumbles I know I’ve upset her. She thinks she wants a milkshake and curly fries but I know better. I will also have some vegetables for the sake of balance. When I am in harmony with my meals, I am at the stove engaged in my cooking through every sense of the words. Seasoned cast iron sears flavour to the dish, I know the time to flip when I can smell the appetite in my breath. Covered with a pan I can hear the muffled oil popping like corn. Gravy seeps over to the edge of the plate and I can’t wait to taste. Red wine with dark chocolate almonds while I digest the evening.

To find the way to my heart I need to respect her and keep her safe. I can rest knowing I have strength around my spine and I feed the meat which surrounds my ribcage. Gently, my heart knows she can trust and send life through my veins.

My shoulder blades fall down my back as the tension releases around my neck. My mind is at ease knowing my whole body is cared for and I chose this for myself.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Maha Rett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.