Earth logo

Inside

An expression of the elements of home

By Imani RainesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sacred Settling Grounds

HOME

First thing that comes to mind when I think of this four letter word is the four walls that encompass all of my material possessions.

The four walls where I lay my head at night and arise in the morning.

Where I eat breakfast and dinner.

The place that I retreat to when my work day is done and my night out on the town has finally come to a stand still at 3am.

Home is where I host dinner parties and do my self care rituals. It is where I take a bubble bath and then find a romance movie to cry to because I am on my cycle. Home is when I drive by that one gas station knowing that all I have to do next is turn the corner and pull into my driveway.

Home is where my turtles are and where I am allowed to walk around in nothing but fuzzy socks. Home was always a physical place that I would have to travel to. A particular city on the map and if I was away from this place I would always tell people that is where my home was. This was the only way that I could experience home. This has always been the first thing that came to my mind whenever I heard that four letter word HOME.

Well… at least this used to be the first thing that came to mind, until one day I decided to quit my job, sell anything that did not fit into my two suitcases, and move out of those four walls. I needed to shift my perspective of what home really was. I needed to break down the layers of my own existence and rediscover the true definition of HOME.

Throughout, what probably looked like from the outside perspective to be a massive spell of chaos.

I discovered Home isn’t somewhere you have to search to buy. Home isn’t about “owning” a piece of land or having a good relationship with your property owner to lower your rent. Home isn’t about investing in those cute, fancy, pillows from IKEA.

HOME is actually the everlasting love of what it means to experience your truth.

It is the sacred idea that we carry with us in the pits of our essence.

Home is our creativity.

It is the natural elements dancing in the structures of our bones.

It is the effervescent colors we see when we shut our eyes at night.

The safety we feel when we hear the whispers of our mothers prayers being cast over us.

Home is when you gather your movements on your yoga mat.

Home is losing yourself in flow.

It is the nostalgia of an old childhood movie and the new lessons you receive from watching it as an adult.

It is when you plunge yourself into fresh mud and you feel the coolness travel throughout sensational points within your feet.

Honestly HOME is whatever YOU decide it to be.

That is the beauty of it.

Home is what makes you feel alive.

It is whatever connects you to source.

Home is the darkness of the womb connecting us to the beginning.

It is the light vessel your soul has chosen to set in.

It is allowance and forgiveness. Adaptation to change.

Home is the space within for compassion to your personal evolution story.

It is the warmth of the unconditional love you choose to give yourself everyday.

Home is within you always.

Home is your freedom.

Freedom is your home.

I am thankful for this new found realization of the fact that I carry HOME within in me always and that truthfully allows me to always feel safe within my being.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.